PDA

View Full Version : LW 9.5 for Torque game engine?

twkelsey
02-21-2008, 10:06 PM
Can I can finally buy Lightwave?!

It has been a longtime dream of mine to learn how to create 3D art. I have been evaluating the 3D packages on the market for the last year or so trying to decide which one to make mine. After trying LW I was hooked, but there was one show stopping problem...I am also an aspiring Indie game developer, and there was no reliable way for me to create game content in LW and export it to the Torque Game Engine (one of the most popular Indie game engines on the market). So I have been waiting, watching the boards, hoping that sometime soon there would be a way, and today when I saw the press release it made my day.

With the new FBX/Collada export capabilities in 9.5, programmers should be able to use LW for Torque. Granted, it will be a slightly indirect route, but it should become possible...

Houdini recently announced that their next version of Houdini Apprentice HD (only $99, released in March 2008) will have the ability to export to Torque DTS format. According to Houdini's web site, the exporter was written by the Torque developers at Garage Games, so one would hope it would be somewhat reliable. Houdini already has the ability to import FBX, so I am hoping that the following pipeline will work:

LW 9.5 -> FBX -> Houdini Apprentice HD -> Torque DTS.

Does this pipeline sound reasonable? Just making a quick sanity check before I hit the "Buy LW" button.

Granted, I am making a big assumption that all exporters/importers are bug free and will play nice...a big assumption for certain :)

As a side note, the FBX/Collada exporters should also allow for the creation of game content for Microsoft's XNA Game Studio (FBX), the Unity Game Engine (FBX), the C4 Game Engine (Collada) plus many others. Great news for Indie game developers that want to use LW!

RedBull
02-21-2008, 10:18 PM
LW 9.5 -> FBX -> Houdini Apprentice HD -> Torque DTS.