PDA

View Full Version : TurboSquid sometimes....

hrgiger
02-21-2008, 07:45 PM
Look at this ridiculous file. $1,000 for just a body and the worst part is, the modeling is horrible. http://www.turbosquid.com/FullPreview/Index.cfm/ID/270775

Who's dumber? The person who posted this for $1,000 or the person who buys it. I'm guessing the latter.

Hopper
02-21-2008, 08:18 PM
WoW... I'm no expert, but I've seen enough work from folks on this forum to know that's quite ridiculous. It looks like the result of a poorly followed tutorial.

Titus
02-21-2008, 08:25 PM
Maybe he's very proud of his work. The revenge here is the vendor only gets 30% of that after royalties and tax, it's like dealing with the mafia.

Steamthrower
02-21-2008, 08:25 PM
That's a pity is what it is.

Occasionally I'll upload a few models that I've done for fun in the hope that someone will actually find them useful...but I haven't sold any. One model's gotten around 500 downloads though. Don't know if that's good or bad...

hrgiger
02-21-2008, 08:32 PM
I guess maybe what I'm wondering is more of what reason someone could justify spending $1,000 for that.
"I have this project deadline looming and I need a poorly modeled body of a female with no head and I'll pay up to $1,000 for one."

SplineGod
02-21-2008, 09:15 PM
Much easier and cheaper to download Makehuman :)

Titus
02-21-2008, 10:08 PM
I guess maybe what I'm wondering is more of what reason someone could justify spending $1,000 for that.

You risk nothing selling anything at that price. It's clear this guy knows nothing about the market but most people also don't have a clue, myself included. I think all my models are underpriced but I'm selling only because am curious on what people want, last month was my selling record with 6 models generating like 20 bucks.

Iain
02-22-2008, 05:08 AM
I noticed some models which are free to download from e-interiors.net are being offered for sale by individuals on turbosquid.