PDA

View Full Version : AMD or Intel?



yzrider210
07-14-2003, 08:44 PM
I'm a lot more impressed with the Athlon XP than the P4, especially since an AMD system comparable to a P4 system is so much cheaper. NewTek recommends a P4, but will VT[2] work with a top of the line Athlon XP processor?

videoguy
07-15-2003, 07:49 PM
t2 will work perfect on either. but t3 uses sse2 instructions which are only supported by amd opterons and p4s this dosent mean it wont run on a atholon it will run the much slower mmx code. if i were you i would bite the bullet and go with a dual p4 system they rock.

yzrider210
07-15-2003, 08:21 PM
Ok, thanx. I was wondering how the Opteron would run on VT[3]. Is there any reason this new line of 64-bit processors wouldn't work on VT[3]? And are they worth it? Also, is the Xeon or P4 system better for toaster?

Paul Lara
07-15-2003, 10:07 PM
Since VT will happily use all available processors, you really want to go with a Xeon system.

yzrider210
07-15-2003, 10:21 PM
Thanx for all the help, looks like I'm gonna end up getting a Xeon system. Any recommended boards?

Paul Lara
07-16-2003, 06:20 AM
NewTek has posted a list of suggested motherboards here (http://www.newtek.com/products/vt3/sys-req.html)

tmon
07-16-2003, 01:12 PM
Aww man, does this mean VT[3] will cause a performance hit running on a Dual XEON 2.0 GHz motherboard?

Paul Lara
07-16-2003, 06:11 PM
Nah. My demo machine is a Dual Xeon 2.2, and it runs great.

Dan Barnett
07-20-2003, 11:04 PM
:cool:
I was wondering if there are any advantages taken by VT3 on a hyperthreaded chipset?

Paul Lara
07-21-2003, 07:29 AM
Yes, Dan.
There is some improvement for editing DV when hyperthreading is active.

Dan Barnett
07-21-2003, 09:56 AM
:cool:
Okay,"...when hyperthreading is active." What exactly does that mean?...
Does CPU have to be hyperthreading compatible?

Sorry for all the questions. I should learn to ask all my questions in one post.
Thanks for the quick reply.

vip3dran
07-23-2003, 12:19 PM
Originally posted by Paul Lara
Yes, Dan.
There is some improvement for editing DV when hyperthreading is active.

Paul,

Would this apply to VT(2) as well?

Can't wait to get my grubby little fingers on VT3!

Randy

Paul Lara
07-23-2003, 02:34 PM
Yes, as long as you're running VT[2] under XP, you can reap the benefits of DV editing with Hyperthreading on.

vip3dran
07-23-2003, 03:32 PM
Hmmm,

Running Win2k here.
So this means HT won't work for me and I should keep it disabled in the bios? If so, what would happen if I had it enabled in bios?

Paul Lara
07-23-2003, 07:47 PM
Not much. It's enabled on my Win2k box with no ill effects (nor any real benefits that I can see).