PDA

View Full Version : old school toaster newbie

ddogg66
07-14-2003, 08:00 PM
I am completely new to the Amiga world. I had an A2000 given to me complete with toaster card , workbench soft installed and Toaster soft installed. I've been using the A2000 as a real-time effects processor of sorts for use in live music/entertainment events (projected visuals). I noticed some problems with my A2000 recently.

What I'd really like to know is where someone like myself can get all the info needed to:

1. Find and install software (including the OS Workbench-and what version of workbench is best; toaster software including which version is best for A2000) and how to install it (was told Newtek sells all soft on CD and I can use a SCSI CD-rom drive to xfer files [i've NEVER even installed soft on my A2000! How is that done?])

2. How to run software maintenence on an A2000 (ie my system tells me certain blocks on my HDD can't be validated? Also when i start up toaster soft it says can't find RS file? I just normally cancel all these pop-ups and proceed to the toaster interface [2.0 i believe])

3. I've looked long and far for info on old amiga machine but with VERY little luck, so that is why I'm here on this forum.

Please help! I was born in 1978 so you can imagine i'm having a hard time finding info on the system that was most popular before I knew what a computer was :rolleyes: Thanks you to anyone who can help direct this wannabe Amiga lover:D

wilebill
07-18-2003, 05:02 PM
Probably the best place to get help is on the yahoogroups mail lists. You'll need to go to yahoo, find the groups (they don't make it easy) then do a search for "Amiga". You'll get a couple of hundred, and a lot of Spanish groups since Amiga means Girl Friend in Spanish.