PDA

View Full Version : Help with Curving text

roydee
02-17-2008, 12:40 AM
:help:
Hi, Iam doing a small project which requires me to curve text around a round object - Could someone give me a quick run down on how this is done please. I know this may sound like a basic issue but I'm rather new to LW. Thanks heaps

Dexter2999
02-17-2008, 07:11 AM
You might try the BEND tool. (SHIFT +"~")

Also, some things to keep in mind when you use this tool. It often works better when you have more polygons. (More polygons means more points where it can bend the letters so you dont have straight letters bent in a curve which can sometimes look odd)
The bend function will have a different effect when you use it in the top, back, or side views.

Hope this helps.

safetyman
02-17-2008, 07:19 AM
You could also use the Spline Guide tool which is very effective with text. It can use a background curve to shape your text or you can use it with just the guides. Like Dexter said, use more polys to help with shaping.

roydee
02-17-2008, 01:25 PM
Thanks for the tips... Just a couple of Q's to clarify
1) Is there a tool called the "SPLINE GUIDE" tool? I can only find "SPLINE DRAW" and "SPLINE CAGE".
2) I tried the bend tool after adding more ploys to each text letter but I cannot get it to curve uniformly around the circle. I can get it to curve 3 dimensionally around say a globe but I cannot seem to get it to uniformaly curve around the face of a coin. Obviously I am not doing it right.
3) Is there a PLUG-In that could make this task easier?
Thanks Heaps

Silkrooster
02-17-2008, 02:02 PM
Yes there is definately a spline guide tool. Its at Modify>Transform>More>Spline Guide.

Intro to Bend tool
ftp://ftp.newtek.com/multimedia/movies/w3dw/Bend.mov

Interactive List of Williams tutorials
ftp://ftp.newtek.com/multimedia/movies/w3dw/WV_LightwaveTraining.html

Sorry I couldn't find the tutorial on the spline guide. I am all most positive William did one on that as well.
Silk

Otterman