PDA

View Full Version : DXF Help

aloysius1001
02-13-2008, 12:04 PM
I'm trying to learn to do some Arch/Vis work. I have a friend who uses Autocad to design homes and she gave me a DXF file to work with. I opened it in LW7.5d and it was a mess. Do I need to ask for more specific portions of the file or break the file up into more manageable pieces myself(if so how). I've never worked with DXF files before and am a bit overwhelmed. I'm attaching a zip of the DXF file. If somebody could take a look at it and give me an idea of how to approach this it would be greatly appreciated. I also opened the file in Illustrator, this was an even bigger mess. It had 92 layers each with at least equally as many sub-layers, so Illustrator help would be welcomed as well if it can help me get something useful into LW.

RollerJesus
02-13-2008, 12:20 PM
Is this just an exterior or an interior shot as well?

Nicolas Jordan
02-13-2008, 12:29 PM
If you are planning on doing this type of work often and dealing with .dxf you may want to look at AccuTrans 3D(file conversion program) http://www.micromouse.ca/ and LWCAD http://www.wtools3d.com/

aloysius1001
02-13-2008, 12:46 PM
I was hoping to do both the exterior and the several interiors, but I was going to start by focusing on the exterior. I'll take your advice on both if you have the time. As far as LWCAD, I'd have to upgrade from 7.5d to 9.? and then get LWCAD, unfortunately I don't have the $. How long has LWCAD been around anyway, I think it has been around since 7.5 but I may be mistaken. I'll check out accutrans thought.

Thanks

aloysius1001
02-13-2008, 12:52 PM
Just checked Accutrans, unfortunately I'm on a Mac.

RollerJesus
02-13-2008, 01:08 PM
I opened your dxf up and hacked out all the paperspace nonsense and saved out the dxf again. The file has both interior and exterior so you should be good. Also opened it in Illustrator and saved but it's too big to upload, so you're on your own for that one.