PDA

View Full Version : Windows Vista Ultimate 64/32-Bit



We-Co
02-11-2008, 10:25 PM
Hi all, I'm thinking about purchasing Win Vista Ultimate (64 & 32), is there any bugs with LightWave v9+ that should stop me from buying?

safetyman
02-12-2008, 05:50 AM
I use Vista 64 with LW 32-bit. No problems at all.

Paul24
02-12-2008, 01:58 PM
I use Vista 64 with LW 32-bit. No problems at all.

Why not LW 64......?

safetyman
02-12-2008, 05:11 PM
I just haven't installed it. LW 32 is currently meeting all my needs. I use a lot of 32-bit plugins and I haven't had the time to test any of them on LW 64. Does anyone have any insight?

Auger
02-12-2008, 08:47 PM
I have just recently built a system with Vista Ultimate on it. I have LW 64 and 32 on it. Both seem to run just fine. I am mostly doing character animation work. I have been using the 64-bit version because the OpenGL seems to be about twice as fast than the 32-bit LW on these scenes. I have no idea why...

Paul24
02-13-2008, 01:14 AM
Can you tell me please if Saslite works with a 64-bit OS and LW 9.3 - 64 ?

Thanks

RedBull
02-13-2008, 01:33 AM
Can you tell me please if Saslite works with a 64-bit OS and LW 9.3 - 64 ?

Thanks

Saslite has never been included with the 64bit Lightwave.
As far as i know Newtek have never commented on why this has happened (I only assume they would need to pay Worley more money to port it)

But as it stands the following blurb from the Newtek: Needs to be included to say *Not compatible with 64bit version, otherwise it's quite misleading.

"Sasquatch Lite: Hair and fur rendering using Sasquatch rendering engine, also excellent for grass and foliage. The Sasquatch engine is the fastest, highest quality hair renderer in the industry"

Paul24
02-13-2008, 12:19 PM
So I have to stay with Vista 32 and LW 32 because I'm using Saslite all the time, not good :cursin: