PDA

View Full Version : Any sign of light from Newtek?

COBRASoft
02-10-2008, 04:45 AM
Hey all,

I'm wondering what Newtek is doing right now. During the 9.2 and 9.3 cycle, we were informed regurarly about the development proces and we were 'involved' during the beta stages, which was amazing. Now, after 9.3, we haven't heared from them anymore (except Proton's amazing videos).

I see multiple threads here asking for different kind of features for LW 9.x or even LW 10. About what should be implemented and even when. This is all nice 'dreaming', but as long as Newtek doesn't inform us in any way, we have totally no clue what to expect. They could at least give us a priority report and not something like 'in the 9.x we will try to improve...', this is too blurry and too much guessing. Damn Microsoft gave us a future report in 2002 about .Net and it went all the way till 2010 (and they are still on schedule)! I'm a software developer myself and I know very well that informing your customers about the progress of features is very important, even if it is 'bad' news like delays.

So please Newtek, release us from this 'unknown' preasure and give us some light in the future. You don't even have to put a date on it, just what will come in what version and where you currently are.

Greetings,
Sigurd

AbnRanger
02-10-2008, 05:11 AM
They decided to use Autodesk's M.O. (which is to remain completely silent about their future plans until they are ready to release something)...probably due to the difficulty they've had in bringing modeling functionality into Layout.

They may not even know yet what paradigm they are going to go with (ie, keeping Modeler and Layout separate, with much of modeler's core added to Layout, or going with full integration)...so I can see why they haven't spilled the beans. Silence is good for them, but not so with the customer.

Kuzey
02-10-2008, 05:29 AM