PDA

View Full Version : Best PC for your Pound

Falimer
02-09-2008, 05:36 AM
I have LW 9 and am atm running on a older xp system with an Nvidia 8800 card.
I would like to have GENERAL ideas on what type of Comp i should be looking at to get better performance for my money, I am not rich. I would prefer to stay on PC format due to having a PC lisence for PS CS2. I use both Mac and PC equally well as my day job is Studio Manager for a print company.

I also like feedback re 32 or 64 bit and XP v Vista.

Many thanks in advance.

Falimer

DogBoy
02-09-2008, 07:21 AM
Intel Core 2 Q6600 (150-60), plenty of DDR2 (4x2GB PC6400 140) and keep the old vid card. An OK mobo to run that (60-100).

Would need XP64 for that much RAM, but cut it by half and XP will run on it.

I'd do Core 2 as they are generally pretty nippy. A Quad will rip through your renders like a warm knife through butter. RAM is cheap and LW memory intensive.

LW_Will
02-10-2008, 03:42 AM
4 gigs of ram for $76!!! (Fry's in Cali this weekend) Wow!

cresshead
02-10-2008, 03:53 AM
i see your in the uk so am i...

i had a quadcore intel single chip pc built with 8 gig ram and vista ultimate 64bit
was pretty cheap at the time and now [4months later] dell can offer you a similar packaged pc but without 8gig ram and without vista ultimate 64 for a similar price...so their m/boards don't support 8gig and you can't choose a 64bit o/s

i suppose it depends on what you really need in the performance stakes?

my main task was to get faster renders...so the quad core 2.4ghz was what i built my pc choice around then looked for a m/board that can hold/use 8gig ram and then of course i'd need a 64bit O/S to use that 8gig ram!...last of all i needed a graphics card so chose a cheapy nvidia as i'd had my fill of ATi cards..
to cap it all i added a cheap acer 24" monitor.

performance could mean..

1.screen space to make working in your app faster by keeping panels open or just having a LARGE viewport into your 3d world.