PDA

View Full Version : smoothing problem

BusterHymen
02-06-2008, 03:24 PM
First before you laugh at my question, I am just getting started with Lightwave. I am going through some tutorials and I can not seem to get the smoothing option to work. I am allowed to click the option, but after I close the surface editor the mesh has not been smoothed and I am no longer able to go into the surface editor and select it again.

any ideas?

thanks in advance.

pdrake
02-06-2008, 05:02 PM
make sure you have "texture" selected as the preview option in the perspective window.

Surrealist.
02-06-2008, 05:18 PM
First before you laugh at my question, I am just getting started with Lightwave. I am going through some tutorials and I can not seem to get the smoothing option to work. I am allowed to click the option, but after I close the surface editor the mesh has not been smoothed and I am no longer able to go into the surface editor and select it again.

any ideas?

thanks in advance.

What you are in is not the Surface Editor but the Change Surface requester. Each time you create a new surface, once you enter the name, then you can access the controls below. But once it is done that's it. You have to hit F5 or by clicking on the button to open the Surface Editor to make additional changes after that.

Then yes make sure you are on at least smooth shade in a viewport. Any selection in the list below that (except Weight Shade of course) will show smoothing.

zing
02-11-2008, 11:40 PM
Hi all,
I've just rendering a folded surface with the LW9.3.1(universial Binary).
with all the thing set to smooth (surface smooth, camera antialised) but the output make me very disapointed!!

Pls help!!!
many thanks!!!

zing

We-Co
02-12-2008, 12:14 AM
Are you over lapping poly's? If not goto the Modeler open your object and press "Tab".

Surrealist.
02-12-2008, 12:50 AM
Yeah. That looks like duplicate geometry to me too.

wesball
02-12-2008, 01:55 AM