PDA

View Full Version : Sony Ex1 codec



edmellnik
01-28-2008, 06:28 PM
OK Newtek,
How about giving us the EX1 XDCAM capability for editing.

Please.

ed

Videonut
01-28-2008, 11:06 PM
OK Newtek,
How about giving us the EX1 XDCAM capability for editing.

Please.

ed

OK Ed - does that mean you got one of those cameras? I am about to purchase one as well, but have not been able to find out if it has a LANC port or not.

I asked the same question to the Firestore people that you asked Newtek and their response was they will not support this camera because it is a proprietary codec. They also mentioned that it will support the low res output HDV. InFocus made their units compatable with the DVCPro HD codec because it was a very familiar standard whereas Sony seems to Sonyize everything that they make. But back to addressing your thread, I use Sony Vegas quite often and should not have any problems ingesting the footage.

edmellnik
01-29-2008, 12:09 AM
I will own one by the end of the week. It has USB and firewire.
Firewire only works with HDV files.
IT also has composite and component out.
It does not record in DV at all.

ScorpioProd
01-29-2008, 09:15 AM
Sony Vegas Pro 8 would work very well with it, just as it will with the XDCAM HD I'm getting.

Note that other threads suggest that the Sony EX1's format already works fine with SpeedEDIT, though.

Remember, the Sony EX1 uses a MPEG-4 wrapper on the MPEG-2, versus the MXF wrapper on MPEG-2 that Sony XDCAM HD uses.

The former being easier to support than the latter.