PDA

View Full Version : VT-1 upgrade



woowoo
01-28-2008, 01:10 PM
I have a client that is still running a VT-1 card.

Can the card be moved over to an XP system?

It is running under windows 2000 now.


I have rebuilt his 2000 machine over the years and I am pretty familiar on how to install the software, and how the system works.

Does it work the same under XP?
Thanks for any help

ssdcinc
01-28-2008, 04:08 PM
yes the VT1 card will work under XP, whe you upgrade the
software it will do a core-update. other than that it will work fine.

good luck

woowoo
01-29-2008, 06:17 AM
Thanks for the reply.

If you don't mind I do have another question.

You say "When you do the upgrade"

I am used to loading the toaster software (Speed Razor and Aoura) then applying the patches (1.03 and 1.04 ).
The patches allow Windows 2000 to see the toaster card.

Are the patches what you are referring to when you say upgrade?

Thanks for your help.

My goal here is to put the older product (VT-1) on a newer more robust machine.

ssdcinc
01-29-2008, 07:38 AM
Ahhh.....

Excuse me I thouogh you were going to UPGRADE from VT1,
the hardware itself would work under XP, but the VT1 software
was not designed for it.

Your better off trying to get a hold of VT2 XP version, or VT3
since you would need the XP driver for the VT card.

let me ask you a question, beside price, why wouldnt you want
to upgrade ?
...the latest software if sooooooo much better, even VT2
blows away vt1, think about it......

woowoo
01-30-2008, 05:15 AM
Thanks for the response.
The client has a VT-1 system that is going south.
Instead of just replacing hard drives, I thought it would be nice to just replace the entire chassis.

As in life, things change.
I think they are going to purchase a VT-5 system now.
It will look nice next to the 4000 that they have.
:)

kleima
01-30-2008, 10:37 AM
I think they would qualify for the upgrade price for VT[5].