PDA

View Full Version : Beginner Tutorials

A.Russell
07-11-2003, 11:25 AM
I'm new to lightwave and I'm having trouble geting around the interface as it is quite different to what I am used to working with in Windows. There are loads of great tool listed down the side of the screen, but I can't find simple things like "select vertice" or "select face."

I've had a look on the tutorials page but I haven't found anything that addresses these basic functions yet. Can anyone point me in right direction?

gjjackson
07-11-2003, 12:09 PM
I would get any one of a number of books on LW. Even the original manual should get you started. Just go through from the beginning and it should point you in the right direction.

blinblue
07-11-2003, 12:50 PM
If you want to select the points, look at the bottom of the screen in the modeler and you will see.
"Points ^G" [the ^ means you press "Ctrl" button on your keyboard plus the G] "Polygons ^H" "Volume ^J" [note: the shortcuts are the defults, and can be changed].

So the veritces is the same as Points. The Polygons are the same as the faces. And I don't know what they called "Volume" in Macs.
I think most of the other things are named mostly the same. They might have slight differences, just test and see...

A.Russell
07-11-2003, 02:41 PM
Thanks both of you.

I'm still struggling to get used to the interface. I'm only ising the Discovery Edition and it didn't come with a manual. I wouldn't mind buying a book, but I live in the Japanese countryside so getting one in English could take a while.

Selecting things is quite difficult. Points aren't too bad, but faces are nearly impossible, and selected faces are only highlighted in white which makes them hard to see. Also when slecting points and faces, isn't there an "ignore backface" option? I'm sorry if these seem like stupid questions.

Isn't there a help file? Where do I find it?

MGuerra
07-11-2003, 02:54 PM
This is the manual (in html format), plus a lot of additional material.