PDA

View Full Version : Radeon or Gefore in pre 2008 macpro



Vujaka
01-25-2008, 09:41 AM
Hi I need to configure my purchase, then it hit me I dont know which card is better for 3d work.

I basically have a option of the NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT 256MB, over the ATI Radeon X1900 XT 512MB (2 x dual-link DVI)

Can you give me some advice?

3dworks
01-25-2008, 11:02 AM
take the ATI or if you have time, wait for the new geforce (2008 models) to be available for older macpro's. nvidia and apple are apparently working at this. the ATI is *way* better than the 7300 geforce model, especially if using opengl.

see here: http://www.engadget.com/2008/01/18/geforce-8800-gt-upgrade-causes-headaches-for-some-mac-pro-users/

markus

kopperdrake
01-26-2008, 04:48 AM
Yep - I'm using the ATI and the extra memory is useful.

Vujaka
01-28-2008, 12:12 AM
How about the diff between these two machines?

Two 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
2GB (2x1GB)with the ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT 256MB GDDR3

vs

Two 3GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon
1GB (2 x 512MB) with theATI Radeon X1900 XT 512MB (2 x dual-link DVI)

is it worth going for the quad or will the dual be enough?

kopperdrake
01-28-2008, 04:02 AM
Hmm...personally I'd go with the dual quad core set up myself (almost twice as much bang for buck), get it with the basic 1Gb ram offering and have a reputable Apple reseller bung in some extra non-Apple memory which'll be cheaper than speccing 2Gb from Apple. Typically this would be a 1Gb from Apple as base-spec and then whatever takes your fancy budget-wise as extra (I put 4Gb in to tide me over and still left some spare slots incase I needed any extra, so I've 5Gb in there).

No idea about the Radeon HD 2600 XT - not sure what it's like.

Vujaka
01-28-2008, 04:35 AM
Thank you Kopperdrake, you see I dont have a clue. I dont knwo these new machines. I only know the quad must outrun the dual when it comes to rendering, but (in my case) is it worthwhile spending 830 USD more for the quad? When I can get another gig ram for the dual and hope it's almoast as fast as the quad when it renders.

I dont know if it is.

Vujaka
01-28-2008, 01:42 PM
I just don't want to throw money away. The Mac's are pretty pennies. Will I be losing much in terms of getting a 2007 dual dual, with Radeon 1900, against a 2008 dual quad, with Radeon 2600?

That means forking out 800 USD more. At least I can get more ram for the dual core???

hgoldman
02-23-2008, 11:29 AM
hi

my experience with imac and Radeon 2600

the screen drawing is full of errors when using the Radeon 2600.

strange problems with the handles, with the wireframe display and with the updating of text boxes.

BigHache
02-23-2008, 12:29 PM
hi

my experience with imac and Radeon 2600

the screen drawing is full of errors when using the Radeon 2600.

strange problems with the handles, with the wireframe display and with the updating of text boxes.
Guess I can ignore the iMac as a viable 3D machine then, which is fine. What's been your experience with other software, like CS2 or CS3, etc.?

hgoldman
02-24-2008, 08:28 AM
Guess I can ignore the iMac as a viable 3D machine then, which is fine. What's been your experience with other software, like CS2 or CS3, etc.?


imac has been Rock solid with CS 3.
i other imacs we use are all fine. its the Radeon 2600 card that is causing problems.

h

BigHache
02-24-2008, 11:14 PM
imac has been Rock solid with CS 3.
i other imacs we use are all fine. its the Radeon 2600 card that is causing problems.

h
Thanks, good to know.