PDA

View Full Version : Defying Gravity



brundlefly
07-11-2003, 05:33 AM
Anybody else had this problem?

I've moved a soccer ball from Point A to Point B and applied gravity to it to create the bounce. Works like a charm except the first couple of bounces occur above the ground level until it gradually sits at the right level. I've set the ground level to the origin of the soccer ball i.e. half the height of the ball.

Any clues?

Andrew.

gjjackson
07-11-2003, 06:29 AM
I would make sure the soccer ball is at ground level, using RestOnGround.

(BrundleFly-I remember that name.

brundlefly
07-11-2003, 06:37 AM
Thankyou, however I'm using the OSX version and unfortunately it does not have that tool.

Andrew.

brundlefly
07-11-2003, 06:39 AM
"Brundlefly" - from one of my favourite movies.

riki
07-11-2003, 08:35 AM
You should have 'Rest on Ground' anyway aligner does the same thing.

brundlefly
07-11-2003, 10:24 AM
Excuse my ignorance but isn't Aligner a Modelling function whereas Gravity is a Layout problem. Nevertheless I tried your suggestion and whilst I can now set the ground level to be zero in accordance with the ball's resting position some of the bounces still have a mind of their own and refuse to touch the ground.

riki
07-11-2003, 08:47 PM
Sorry I don't know the answer to the gravity question, just responding the comment about 'Rest on Ground'. I assumed that the problem might have had something to do with the location of the Pivot Point.

riki
07-11-2003, 08:52 PM
Here's a bouncing ball that I did awhile back, it just uses an null to control the motion. See also the Graph Editor settings.

Not sure if this is what you want but worth a go.

dablan
07-12-2003, 09:47 AM
Riki is right, it's the location of the pivot.

Although, I'd just move the ground.

And, Rest On Ground is on OSX. LightWave is identical on both mac and pc (except for the one button mouse thing).

Dan Ablan
www.3dgarage.com

jeremyhardin
07-12-2003, 03:30 PM
yeah. rest-on-ground was added to mac with 7.5c

brundlefly
07-14-2003, 04:32 AM
Thanks to all for your help. The fix was to rest the object on the ground in Modeller before bringing it into Layout, as suggested.

Couldn't find Rest On Ground as I have 7.5 but not 7.5c.

Thanks for the files Riki, always helpful to see how other people tackle a similar problem.

Andrew.

colkai
07-15-2003, 05:09 AM
Get yourself the 7.5C download - it's more than worth the fee (its free ;) )