PDA

View Full Version : Strange uv problem

Nemo
07-10-2003, 12:23 PM
Hi there.
I have recently made the switch from 3dStudio Max to lightwave.
I have some experience of uv texturing and i think i understand the process correctly but i have described it below incase i am doing something gormless.

1. Make a hollow tower object.
2. Make seperate surfaces for inside wall and outside wall.
3. Get texture bitmap (made in photoshop) up in the top left pane.
4. Make uv's for each surface.

The problem is that when i use the cylindrical unwrap on the outer wall surface the far left edge appears slightly outside the image area. When i resize the uv's that edge will not change with the rest of the uv map.
The problem is visible in the perspective window. When i select the surface and move the uv map for it up and down over the image, the texture of the polygon with the edge that wont respond twists as if the texture is locked to that one edge.

Any help on this would be much appreciated.

TerryFord
07-10-2003, 08:52 PM
Sounds like you need to Unweld the object. Unwelding detatches all the polygons from each other and frees up the "locked" UV's. When you're done editing the UVs Merge "m" to re-attatch the polys.

Also, you'll usually want to turn off symmetry when editing UV's as it can occasionally cause some UV movement wierdness.

Regards,
Terry

Lynx3d
07-11-2003, 06:51 AM
The problem is that when i use the cylindrical unwrap on the outer wall surface the far left edge appears slightly outside the image area.
Uhm, not sure what you mean, but it happens that the whole mesh is a bit off, e.g. starting at U=0.1 and ends at U=1.1, but it still should wrap perfectly...

And yes, like Terry said, discontinous UVs (i.e. a texture seam, where the texture does not continue from one polygon to the next) are not editable in UV views (unfortunately, Newtek, please change that in LW8, other Progs can do it too...)