PDA

View Full Version : New to lightwave

ToiletDuck
07-10-2003, 01:12 AM
Hi I am new to CG. I work a lot and am trying to self teach myself on the side (University computer's on spare time). I'd like to get myself something to learn to model on. So I was wondering if, even though this is the lightwave forum, any of you could sudjest a CG program that is easy to start with. Do you consider Lightwave to be the easiest to pickup? Did any of you learn on something else? I will continue using it. However I find it tough. Which program do you think is best for an aboslute complete newb?
Duck

garg
07-10-2003, 02:01 AM
I started with Caligary TrueSpace but switched to LW about 3 years ago...

I think in general 3D is not so easy to understand and handle at the begining.

LW or other packages are not so easy to understant not because the package is not welldone, but simply because 3D is not easy manage.

If you take for example clay, and want to recreate a human body, you will see that it's not easy, and even if the media is easy to deal with, it will not make you a good artist. Well 3D is the same. IMO you need to learn how to deal with 3D and this is indipedent of the 3D package you choose.

LW is not so complex BTW and the modeler is very good. I think if you started with LW stick with it and continue to try. It will take some time, but afterward you will be able to represent what you want.

Alain Bertrand

mrunion
07-10-2003, 07:27 AM
FWIW:

I "started" with Imagine 2.0 for DOS because it came with a book I bought. I then moved to Blender (http://www.blender3d.com/) because it was free, powerful (for me and most things I would ever do) and let me do tings other free packages wouldn't -- like motion curves, scripting in python, a small, built-in non-linear editor, and it runs on almost every platform imaginable.