PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave vs Strata 3D

newto3d
01-09-2008, 04:43 PM
Hi all,

I am a product designer and I design anything from handbags, to luggage to household items and gifts. I need a 3D software for modeling only, I do not need animation. Has anyone worked in both Lightwave and Strata3D? CAn you give me the pros and cons of both?

Thanks so much!

Darek Laszczyk
01-09-2008, 11:44 PM
Simple. Lightwave is better. You can also try Modo (modeling and render).

IMI
01-10-2008, 12:41 AM
Other people might like Strata. I tried the demo several years ago, and just thought it was weird, not intuitive. Maybe that's changed.
LightWave Layout, on the other hand, has one of the nicest render engines around, and LightWave Modeler is great for both extreme accuracy in modeling, and ease of use.
If you don't already know, both Layout and Modeler are two separate programs collectively known as LightWave, and packaged together.

safetyman
01-10-2008, 07:00 AM
Lightwave is 100 times easier to use -- and it does more. Strata has some serious shortcomings, but it does a few things well (it used to have a version of Swift3d built in, but I'm not sure if the latest version does).

I'd go with Lightwave, definitely. You won't be disappointed.

Nicolas Jordan
01-10-2008, 07:18 AM
Lightwave happens to have a huge treasure chest of free plugins for modeling that most programs can not come close to matching! :thumbsup:

Steamthrower
01-10-2008, 07:24 AM
Lightwave all the way, if you're comparing only between Strata3D and it. In my opinion LW has one of the easiest and most intuitive modelers (especially for non-organic stuff) that I've ever tried out.

chikega
01-10-2008, 08:51 AM