PDA

View Full Version : How much should I charge

Dragonkwon
01-08-2008, 02:25 PM
I am kinda new to the video biz and not sure how much to charge my clients. This is a project I just did a couple of weeks ago and only charged $100 was that a fair price? It took about five hours to complete. I would like to know how much you would charge for something like this? Here's the link. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=grtwtF8Q2Nk. The DVD version looks a lot better than this youtube one.

*Pete*
01-08-2008, 02:37 PM
I am aiming at $100/hour as salary, so for your 5 hour job you should ask $500 to begin with, as a minimum price.
Im new with working for money with 3D, but i think that for a 5 hour job, i would take paid for a full 8 hours, as that 5 hour job will potentially stop you from doing any other paid job that day.
so..$800 maybe?

others will most likely advise you better, im still new to this, but i do know that you need to be carefull with working cheaper than you can afford to.

Steamthrower
01-08-2008, 02:44 PM
I've been somewhat flexible on my job rates, but, normally (when freelancing, not working) I charge between $100 to $120 an hour when doing video/3D. When doing Photoshop work or web stuff it's a rate of $65/hr.

AbnRanger
01-08-2008, 06:39 PM
Depending on what else you do to pay the bills, you may consider having a "Minimum Fee"...meaning that it's just not worth the time to set up and produce for less than a pre-determined amount.
You have to realize that there are plenty of potential clients that expect you to do work for cut-throat rates...more or less as "a favor" or worse yet, that they are actually doing you a favor by giving you material to help build your portfolio... geesh!