PDA

View Full Version : Direct record to a CODEC a MAC can use?

Adam_LightPlay
01-07-2008, 12:24 PM
For some reason, some people still want to do their final cut on a MAC. But they love the TriCaster for all its upstream, and switching features. One customer is recording day long seminars, to an external drive. They don't want to have to re-render all of it through the editor or another PC based converter just to get a digital file that loads into their MAC.

I believe you don't have the Speed HQ CODEC available for the MAC.
So, how about a choice to switch the native live recording mode to either a standard DV .avi, or a .DV file. I'm not a programmer, but I'll bet Andrew could pull that off.
Thanks,

DrVideo
01-10-2008, 05:16 PM
I'll second that request. That is my #1 gripe about the Tricaster. I would love to be able to use the recorded video right off of the tricaster HD rather than have to spend tons of time waiting for the "prepare for vcr" feature to render.

DrVideo:agree:

CreatvGnius
01-12-2008, 05:18 PM
I'll second that request. That is my #1 gripe about the Tricaster. I would love to be able to use the recorded video right off of the tricaster HD rather than have to spend tons of time waiting for the "prepare for vcr" feature to render.

DrVideo:agree:

That would be a huge time-saver, although something needs to be in place, I think, for TriCaster to default to its usual codec-writing scheme, unless an optional codec type is selected by the user before a particular shoot event.

Come to think of it, such a feature might spur additional sales of TriCaster units to those in the Apple community, I would think.
-PeterG

simonholley
02-20-2008, 03:02 AM
I'd like to add my say - this is a must have feature for tricaster - all models! I also want to be able to write direct to an avi onto an external drive in a codec a mac can read so I can quickly edit in final cut or imovie and be done!

aldorr
02-22-2008, 07:24 PM