PDA

View Full Version : Virtual Render Questions



Cohen
01-04-2008, 02:38 PM
I have two questions about Virtual Render. Does Virtual Render allow 32 bit render nodes to tesselate higher amounts of geometry? Currently the max amount of polys I can throw at the farm is about 1.5 million. I know Virtual Render frees up ram by 'off loading' what it doesnt need per bucket, but does this mean I will have extra ram for rendering more polygons? Also, does it handle interpolated GI correctly for lightwaves native renderer? I read somewhere that it seamlessly put together Kray GI information when distributing a single frame across all nodes, but what about Lightwave's own GI?

Any information is appreciated. :help:

Sensei
01-04-2008, 03:00 PM
LW takes its memory for geometry, so VR cannot deallocate that by any way. It's under LW control. But it saves memory for framebuffer. The bigger resolution, the more you save, which might help rendering hi-res. It's recommended to use together with InfiniMap which also saves memory for images. We have in plans making Virtual Object volumetric that will be replacement for LW objects, which will be putting geometry in file on disk, splitting it to kd-tree optimized areas, and load only what is in ray route at a time.

pixym
01-04-2008, 07:40 PM
…We have in plans making Virtual Object volumetric that will be replacement for LW objects, which will be putting geometry in file on disk, splitting it to kd-tree optimized areas, and load only what is in ray route at a time.
Like HD Instance does?