PDA

View Full Version : URGENT: UV mapping a wrapped present?

Deux
01-02-2008, 09:56 AM
'Wavers,

Eek, need some lifesaving help if possible...

Imagine an Xmas present, wrapped in a paper with a repeating pattern. I need to UVMap a sub-patched or frozen poly 'box' with no distortion - i.e. as if the wrapping paper was unwrapped and flattened into a single piece of paper. LW's default UV tools don't have a cubic wrapping method which is the sort of thing I need.

Does anyone know how I might achieve this very quickly using another method or third party UV tools?

Thanks,

-: Deux :-

othornton
01-02-2008, 10:08 AM
Use PLG's UV tools:

http://homepage2.nifty.com/nif-hp/index2_english.htm

-Oliver

Deux
01-02-2008, 10:30 AM
Oliver,

Thanks for the reply. Any idea specifically how I would use these plugins to achieve this as I have never used them before and time is pressing on me at the moment.

Thanks for your help,

druitre
01-02-2008, 10:58 AM
You can also use the standard 'texture guide' (UV maps>edit UVs>more>texture guide); this does cubic mapping.

(select 'texture guide', if you don't see anything, hit 'n' for numeric panel, select 'cubic' from menu, hit 'make UVs', drag blue box to resize UVs. You'll end up with all four sides mapped on top of each other, drag them in UV view to your desired place.)

druitre
01-02-2008, 11:00 AM
There's a 'texture guide II' plugin as well that has some more functions and some more automations, look for it on flay.

good luck!

Andyjaggy
01-02-2008, 11:14 AM
I never noticed the camera option in the texture guide, that could be potentially usefull.

colkai
01-02-2008, 11:50 AM
I never noticed the camera option in the texture guide, that could be potentially usefull.
Proton shows the use of this in one of his tutorials, like yourself, I never realised this feature.
That said, what little UV I do, these days, I generally use the PLG plugins, but good to know the other option is there.