PDA

View Full Version : appending scenes

czesiu
01-01-2008, 10:21 AM
Hi Folks,

Recently I have cretaed 4 scenes, 1000-1500 frames each, now I need to put those scenes together but I can not find a button "append" or "add scene".
There is only buttons to add objects, lights, motion paths but the scenes.

Am I so stupid I can not find a single function,
or did you missed something when planing userfreindliness of LW?

It should be even possible to have many timelines to work with to mix and timing scenes independent of each other.

Nevertheless, please let me know where is the function I need, or how simply and fast add scene to an end of other scene.

Cheers
Pawel

dwburman
01-01-2008, 11:10 AM
I've been using LW for probably over ten years and don't know of a feature to do that. I've never tried to combine scenes like that. Normally I'd render out the frames and combine them in the editing/compositing stage.

basically you need to bring the animation settings from one scene into another scene without duplicating the objects. I've thought a few things you could try and there may be some other methods that will work better. Don't forget to make backup copies of your scenes before trying to combine them.

You could try to "load from scene" and bring everything in. You'd have 3 copies of all objects, lights and cameras but you could turn off the parts that aren't in use for that set of keyframes. Of course, you could copy and paste the keyframes from the duplicates items to the original set.

If you don't have too many objects or too complicated settings you could save the motions out separately, create some Null objects and load the motions onto the nulls then copy the keyframes to the live objects.