PDA

View Full Version : Final Gather....wtf?



hard8
12-28-2007, 08:12 PM
I am getting nowhere with FG.

No matter what solution I plug into it I get a mammoth render.
Anyone have any tips for kicking this thing in the ***? Is there a "go fast" button I'm missing?

I'm really trying to explore everything I can in the standard renderer before I shell out the jing for FPrime (sound off about that if you have any experience as well).

I have 2 lights in the scene: One spot, one Area... both raytraced.

the majority of the light is coming from a luminous projection sphere.

oldtekerr
12-28-2007, 08:13 PM
What are your settings?

hard8
12-28-2007, 08:25 PM
Int: 100
RPE: 15 (i've tried high and low... highest was 40)
ID: 1 (haven't messed with that yet)
TOL: 1
MES: 40mm (Tried all the way up to 500mm)
MPS: 0 (tried offsetting with MES.. highest was 10)

No interpolation.. read that defeats the purpose because it puts all the load on the first pass.

oldtekerr
12-28-2007, 08:44 PM
no... you want interpolated... unless you have something other then the camera being animated? Even then... I would still try getting away with interpolated
try
Interpolated
rpe 256
IB 1 or 2 or more depending on what you are doing. It is how many times the light will bounce. The higher, the longer the render will take...
tol .2 or .3
mes 10mm
mps 2

also if you are using reflection on any of your surfaces you may want to turn the ref samples down to 2 or 4... and your ray recursion limit to 6 or so (in the render global

What is your computer?

hard8
12-28-2007, 08:50 PM
Computer: G5 dual 1.8/ 4 gb Ram

I'm doing a render at the setting I listed... 35 min @ 65%

I'll post a final time and try again at your recommendations.

Thanks.

hard8
12-28-2007, 09:07 PM
looked horrible at 42.6 minutes with those settings...

I'm trying your settings now, but I can see the render time already being at least 5xs slower.

I guess you get what you pay for.

cresshead
12-28-2007, 09:27 PM
screen grab...without 'seeing' we really can't be of much help in trying to solve a problem

oldtekerr
12-28-2007, 09:50 PM
If there is one good thing about lightwave... its the render! You will get a quality image out of it with little hassle! If you could post a screen grab that would be great.

I think your system might be what is slowing you down.
You said a dual 1.? proc...
on my system that render would have been 8 times faster... so it would have only taken 5 min.
not saying you need a new system but... its not helping the render times.

IMI
12-28-2007, 09:54 PM
I'm really trying to explore everything I can in the standard renderer before I shell out the jing for FPrime (sound off about that if you have any experience as well).


FPrime - excellent, and great, quick radiosity. Everything about it is faster than LW's render engine, although sometimes gives considerably different results. Gotta play with it, too, though it has far fewer setup options.
That's up to and including 32-bit LW 9.2. After that... even though there's a 64-bit version which runs under LW 9.3 64-bit, half the nodes don't work right.
If you're using 64 bit LW 9.3 on Windows (have no idea about Mac), I wouldn't even consider FPrime just yet. Something tells me there won't be another completely working update to it until well after the 9.x cycle is through.
And, shadow maps and caustics don't render in FPrime, period.

oldtekerr
12-28-2007, 09:56 PM
he is on a mac

IMI
12-28-2007, 09:58 PM
oh right - I missed that. :foreheads

hard8
12-28-2007, 11:11 PM
I'll post renders as soon as the next one finishes up. I got a decent result at 11 minutes, but I didn't save it. The next one looks like it will clock in at 16 min.

Yes... I need a new computer. I'm still 4 months away from a Mac Octopus.

oldtekerr
12-28-2007, 11:19 PM
You could get an 8 core PC for way cheeper, then you could run LW in 64 bit.
I know, people love their Macs...:D

hard8
12-28-2007, 11:36 PM
I hear you, but Shake is 80% of my business right now.

Cageman
12-29-2007, 01:15 AM
Some of the new materials and shaders in LW takes forever to render. I gave up on some of them when I used a 1.8Ghz 32-bit AMD. I'll have to revisit them someday with my new system. :) Ohh... and Shake is a very cool tool, using Fusion from time to time at work... almost the same thing.. ;)

Exception
12-29-2007, 03:45 AM
There's an extensive radiosity guide in my signature... you might want to read.

hard8
12-29-2007, 10:39 AM
I did read that. it came up on a google search. It's really well written.

At the time I skipped to the FG section but I planned on reading the whole thing over.