PDA

View Full Version : Help - Combining/Merging Meshes???

Algae998
12-20-2007, 08:49 PM
Hello LWers,

Ive run into a wall. Ive searched for this throughout the forum but I cant seem to find anything on this. How do I combine or merge objects or meshes into one single mesh???

I like to model with primatives, mainly because Im still new to 3d. What Ive planned on doing is making my 3d model (out of multiple primatives), exporting it, opening it in Zbrush and fine detailing or painting it there. The problem comes in when trying to subdivide in Zbrush.

In my attached images, Ive made a gasmask filter made of 4 discs for the rings, body and tube all on the same layer (image 1 and 2) and then exported it. When I import it into ZB (image 3) and subdivide it however many times, I get the following results (image 4). I believe this is due the "shrinkage" of the meshes during a subdivision since the objects are not a single mesh. (I have experimented with other single mesh objs and this does not occur)

So far the only way around this that Ive found is to build the model in ZB, which Im more accurate in LW for mechanical stuff, or to draw out the outline and use the lathe tool. If someone could point me in the right direction as to combining meshes to avoid this, I would greatly appreciate it!!

RudySchneider
12-20-2007, 08:57 PM
Construct > Boolean > Union. Just don't forget to merge points (hotkey "m") afterwards. You may also need to add a bit more edge reinforcement to maintain "tight" curvature.

SplineGod
12-20-2007, 09:05 PM
It shouldnt shrink like that. You might subdivide it a bit more before exporting from LW. Also theres nothing wrong with modeling things the way you did. Spending the time to make single seamless meshes can be a waste of time.

RudySchneider
12-20-2007, 09:32 PM
Algae998 ---