PDA

View Full Version : LW Dynamics



mccabejc
12-18-2007, 01:33 PM
Ever since LW included dynamics in Layout I've been trying to get a handle on the different parameters it uses, and also trying to correlate the values of those parameters with corresponding real physical constants. Most recently I tried to figure out what "resistance" in ClothFX correlates to in physics terms. It's kinda like drag, but it seems to be more of a property of just the medium (air, water, etc), which is more like viscosity or density. And the manual says that a value of 0.14 approximates air, and 1.0 is like molasses. But I can't find anything in any physics tables which matches that.

But it finally occurred to me...

Maybe I'm wasting my time, and maybe LW is not faithfully trying to reproduce physics per se, but maybe it's making a lot of simplifying assumptions in order to speed up the simulations. And maybe the parameters are more like fudge factors, which a bunch of different simplifying factors mixed together, with no corresponding real world counterparts in any physics tables. So maybe that's why they don't publish tables to nail down their real world counterparts...

Anyone know if that's the case?

Andyjaggy
12-18-2007, 01:39 PM
I always assumed that's how they worked.

mccabejc
12-18-2007, 01:57 PM
I always assumed that's how they worked.

So how come you never told me ???? :)

Andyjaggy
12-18-2007, 02:02 PM
Cause I'm a jerk.

walfridson
12-18-2007, 02:26 PM
People always forget this!

Andyjaggy
12-18-2007, 02:30 PM
Nice.

THREEL
12-18-2007, 02:58 PM
People always forget this!

Is this a v9.x addition, because I don't remember seeing this option in 8.5?

walfridson
12-18-2007, 03:03 PM
You have to press CTRL SHIFT F2

Steamthrower
12-18-2007, 03:07 PM
Yeah, I downloaded the "Jedi Universe" and "Wiley E. Coyote" expansion plugins for that feature, works pretty well. When your character/car/object goes over a cliff, it hangs for a few seconds before gravity kicks in. Also small forces like punches will knock a large mass out of sight.

Tip: in Windows, press the Shift key 5 times really fast and the beta LW feature of "realtime dynamics" will be activated. :devil:

Andyjaggy
12-18-2007, 03:15 PM
I tried that and all I got was a lousy instancing engine and bucket renderer. Lame.

WilliamVaughan
12-18-2007, 08:02 PM
You really need to work in real world scale to get control of Dynamics in LW. Hope that helps a bit.

also...have a go at some of the dynamics videos here:
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77002

loki74
12-19-2007, 12:44 AM
People always forget this!

I LOL'd. xD

Mark The Great
12-19-2007, 11:09 AM
You really need to work in real world scale to get control of Dynamics in LW. Hope that helps a bit.

also...have a go at some of the dynamics videos here:
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77002

You're posting those videos too fast! I can't keep up! :thumbsup: