PDA

View Full Version : Going back to (old) school, yo.



IndyJones1023
12-13-2007, 09:03 AM
In my other thread (Any way to get old Toaster wipes for newer software? (http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77161)) I'm getting some great help from Prospector - thanks! However, should I run into a dead end and want to find an Amiga on eBay, I need some advice.

Which Amiga do I need for a basic Toaster? I don't need the greatest. I don't need a Flyer. I just want a basic Toaster set up so I can fiddle, relive the good old days, but more importantly, convert some old wipes into newer software (Premiere and After Effects are my targets).

Will an A500 house a Toaster card? Do I need a 1000? Despite the fact I cut my teeth with a Toaster, I was never an Amiga guru. I just used the Toaster and Lightwave. So I have no idea how to start from scratch with an Amiga system.

Any advice?

CreatvGnius
12-13-2007, 10:14 AM
In my other thread (Any way to get old Toaster wipes for newer software? (http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77161)) I'm getting some great help from Prospector - thanks! However, should I run into a dead end and want to find an Amiga on eBay, I need some advice.

Which Amiga do I need for a basic Toaster? I don't need the greatest. I don't need a Flyer. I just want a basic Toaster set up so I can fiddle, relive the good old days, but more importantly, convert some old wipes into newer software (Premiere and After Effects are my targets).

Will an A500 house a Toaster card? Do I need a 1000? Despite the fact I cut my teeth with a Toaster, I was never an Amiga guru. I just used the Toaster and Lightwave. So I have no idea how to start from scratch with an Amiga system.

Any advice?

Amiga 2000 what you're looking for, as that's the minimum. (Would be a bonus if you could get your hands on the "Fatter Angus" chip (was it?) which enabled you to access twice the display RAM if I recall correctly); populate the machine with 16MB of RAM if you can. Better still, if you can get an accelerator card (with a zippier CPU on it, than the merrier -- but you did state you wanted basic, so I'll relent). :D

And to think I just tossed two Amiga 2000 machines in the trash 2 weeks ago! :thumbsdow
-PeterG

rcfreas
12-13-2007, 04:55 PM
Might as well pick up an A4000. Already has 2 meg of chip ram and an '040. Beware of mobos with bad battery. Might need spend too much $ to "upgrade" the basic a2000 once you get working with it. Especially if you are going to play with Lightwave.

DiscreetFX
12-25-2007, 01:44 PM
Also Amiga 2000's don't have the AGA chipset so no color effects work. Amiga 500 & 1000's can't use the Video Toaster. If he wants to play with Lightwave he might as well do that on a brand new PC or Mac running version 9.3.

DiscreetFX
12-25-2007, 01:50 PM
Might as well wait around for a good deal on a Amiga 4000 Toaster setup. If you just want the effects you will not need a Flyer so that makes finding a system even cheaper. Sometimes you can even find a kind soul that has upgraded to a TriCaster or VT[5] that will give you a A4000 Toaster setup for free. Then just capture the effect sequence live from the Amiga Video Toaster 4000 into a PC or Mac capture card running Adobe Premiere, problem solved.

IndyJones1023
05-14-2008, 06:30 AM
Just bumping some old threads of mine with the latest development.

I picked up an A2000 on Craigslist with a working Toaster for only $50!

http://www.westg8.com/tivo/toasterworking.jpg

I'll be making the Toaster transitions tonight! :thumbsup:

IndyJones1023
03-23-2009, 08:45 AM
Just to wrap up this thread, I'm going to sell this setup on eBay if anyone is interested.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=270363011360