PDA

View Full Version : suspend the system



FranK10
07-07-2003, 05:04 AM
Is it possible to suspend the system with te VT[2]?

I tried, but O.S. tells that video toaster driver doesn't allow this operation.

It could be useful to suspend a work in Photoshop, Lightwave or some other prog. (Don't think in ToasterEdit or Live situation :)

Thanks
Francesco

Paul Lara
07-07-2003, 08:20 AM
Some systems don't like to suspend with VT installed.



Originally posted by FranK10
Is it possible to suspend the system with te VT[2]?

I tried, but O.S. tells that video toaster driver doesn't allow this operation.

It could be useful to suspend a work in Photoshop, Lightwave or some other prog. (Don't think in ToasterEdit or Live situation :)

Thanks
Francesco

FranK10
07-07-2003, 11:23 AM
I have

Supermicro P4DC6+
dual 2.4G
1GB Rambus Ram
with w2000 SP2

Which are the systems that allow to do this?
Which are the components who influence this
operation: i.e. Motherboards, O.S. ...?

Can I do something to reach this goal?

Regards
Francesco

Paul Lara
07-07-2003, 01:43 PM
Originally posted by FranK10
Which are the systems that allow to do this?

I believe it is a motherboard thing.


Can I do something to reach this goal?



Personally, I've never liked to 'suspend', even when my system was capable of it. I always leave my computer running, and simply turn off the monitor.

The amount of electricity used by an idling computer is quite small, and I favor keeping my drives spinning vs. power up/power down cycles throughout the day.

...but to answer your question, I don't know what else you could do to make your VT system properly hibernate.