PDA

View Full Version : new to clip inherit

jredmond108
12-11-2007, 08:20 AM
I am just getting started on learning SpeedEdit and do not understand clip inherit and why it is working the way it is.

Here's what going on.

I hold down alt, select a tga file (cg key)
drop it on an old cg (it says inherit on the old cg) then

it turns the CG upside down
and
does not "remember any of the setting (overlay, fade etc)

What am I missing?

Thanks for your help!

James

SBowie
12-11-2007, 09:58 AM
Not sure if it applies, but Inherit can be flaky if you use it with dissimilar object types. So, for example, dropping a .tga on a .cg file might not behave well.

I don't know why it would misbehave if both files are Targa's though.

jredmond108
12-11-2007, 10:19 AM
both files are exactly the same - tga files created in titlemotiom pro...

i will call tech support. i thouht i might be missing something simple.

thanks james

ted
12-11-2007, 10:45 AM
James, you're not going nuts. That's what I would have expected as well. That's the reason for inherit!
Has this always worked this way for you or is it new?

jredmond108
12-11-2007, 01:18 PM
What it is doing is when I take the new clip and drop it on the old clip (with holding the alt key) it turns the clip upside down and inverts it! And it does not remember any of the settings.

I'll spoken to tech support and they are looking into it...

Very Strange. James

SBowie
12-11-2007, 01:48 PM
Could you post a couple of your sample images here for us to try this with?

jredmond108
12-11-2007, 05:04 PM
I've attached a couple of files (at least I think I did with this interface).

If not I will send them another way.

thanks for your help!!! James

jredmond108
12-11-2007, 05:17 PM
It does not accept tga files so I uploaded it at yousendit:

Here is the link for Shaune - online.TGA:
http://download.yousendit.com/C19F571D3A634A8E

Here is the link for Internet ABC.TGA:
http://download.yousendit.com/6F7A2C5164A17EA7