PDA

View Full Version : Hello community i'm newbie and need your help !

hub73
12-03-2007, 04:21 AM
Hello i'm a french newbie lw9.3 registered user ! Lw is a fantastic and complete software ! But you already know that ! I'm an hobbist game programmer. i want use lw into my tiny game project. (Presentation here : http://www.zigwigwis.com/search_artist.php) to produce my own graphisms !

i use some dvd and read the documentation to learn the program. But i've already a newbie question...

see this picture http://www.zigwigwis.com/lw/pb01.gif.
as base i've used a toroid, next clear the bottom part by selecting some polygons. Next i've rebuild the form by reconstruct the bottom polygon (make polygon) and weld the points so each polygon corner have only one point. Next i want extrude the bottom polygons with the extrude tool... it works well but when i pass to wireframe to a smooth render view i see that some polygons are invisible ? so the form look open ! So how to divide a toroid into two part. Clear the bottom part but 'close' the form with polygons ???

Many thanks for your help !

ben martin
12-03-2007, 05:12 AM
Welcome,

You can select all polygons and go to:
DETAIL -> POLYGONS -> ALIGN.
This align the polygons faces all to the same side.

The second option is:
Select the polygon that is inverted (the face you don't see) and hit key "F" to flip its face. :)

hub73
12-03-2007, 05:55 AM
it works now with ben martin fix ! i know that there is a difference when you draw by hand a clockwise or anticlockwise polygon but i never know the right choice ! Many thanks !

ben martin
12-03-2007, 06:30 AM
i know that there is a difference when you draw by hand a clockwise or anticlockwise polygon but i never know the right choice ! Many thanks !

Add points clockwise.
Hit "p" and the polygon will face you! :)

hub73
12-03-2007, 07:43 AM