PDA

View Full Version : Texture Map Creator

kosmodave
12-02-2007, 07:35 AM
Hi Everone,

Thought this may be useful to try.

http://www.mapzoneeditor.com

Looks good, but I am not very good at texturing yet to fully evaluate.
Get it now as it's free.....:)

Regards
Dave.

SplineGod
12-02-2007, 08:52 AM
Been using this for awhile. Its really nice. :)

gerry_g
12-02-2007, 02:04 PM
This is just a variant of what ships for free with Modo, I've never really bought into the idea that texturing was as simple as pressing a few buttons, it doesn't replace skill or artistic judgement in my book.

Iain
12-02-2007, 02:40 PM
Brilliant. Thanks for the heads up!

:thumbsup:

Mipmap
12-02-2007, 06:41 PM
This is just a variant of what ships for free with Modo, I've never really bought into the idea that texturing was as simple as pressing a few buttons, it doesn't replace skill or artistic judgement in my book.

I agree that nothing ever does replace it, but in my world I have to make textures that must tile pretty often and I can say a lot of the steps in doing so are more just tedious and painful and mostly brainless. Like making the texture and it's appearance is not, but editing while worrying about it's ability to tile can just be more of a pain in a distracting kind of way.

So in the end if this thing does what I think it is suggesting on it's site then it may just save a lot time wasted on tedious repetitive stuff and allow more time for what we agree on that cannot be replaced.

Although lately when making textures I've almost had more of a tendency to prefer modeling actual geometry of a tileable 3D panel and then just rendering it out as a texture.

-EsHrA-
12-03-2007, 02:31 AM
2.5 is free from the mapzone site but 2.6 is currently for free on 3d world mag january issue.

mlon

GandB
12-03-2007, 06:08 AM
Thanks for this; it should be relevant to my work with game media.

-Keith

Philbert
01-14-2008, 11:08 PM