PDA

View Full Version : Select by Map?



Filmdesigner
11-28-2007, 08:32 PM
Silly thing. A model I have recieved has glass panels on many of the seperate layers. I need to combine all the glass into one layer so I can control the GI effects. The catch is I have several thousand glass panels and don't want to individually select each pane. I can't find a "Select By Map or Texture" feature in LW 9.2.

Any ideas?

SplineGod
11-28-2007, 11:38 PM
View-----selection-----Maps :)

Sande
11-28-2007, 11:58 PM
You can also easily select by surface with Polygon statistics panel (shortcut "w"). I also often use UV-viewport for selections as most of my models are UV-mapped.

Filmdesigner
11-29-2007, 04:34 PM
I have previously tried the Select Maps option but nothing happened. I was unsure what I had done.

I will experiment some more...

Thanks.

SplineGod
11-29-2007, 05:26 PM
It selects the points I believe.... :)

colkai
11-30-2007, 02:02 AM
As Larry says, it selects points, so if you're in poly mode, it looks like it does nothing and confuses the heck outta one. (Ask me how I know this? ;) :p )

The easy thing, go to point mode, use select by map, hen use the "select switch" option and the polys associated with the map will be highlighted.