PDA

View Full Version : Controling objects with keyframes

pdp editor
11-28-2007, 04:43 PM
I'm trying to create an amination where three objects roll into the camera view one after the other 75 frames apart. The problem is although I have key frames to prevent the other from moving until it's turn. When finally add a keyframes to move the object closer towards camera; some of the rotation and scaling affects the object before the intended keyframe causing weird results.

Question: how can I animate an object freeze it in place for 75 frames then have it crawl towards the camera rotating and increasing in size without the last changes affecting the 75 frames where the object should remain still?

RudySchneider
11-28-2007, 04:46 PM
Have you tried setting the tension of your envelopes (motion, size, etc.) in the graphic editor?

pdp editor
11-28-2007, 05:33 PM
I have no experience using this part of LW. Is that where the problems are?

medicalart
11-28-2007, 05:50 PM
Under the layout main window is a button "Autokey". If that's selected, any slight adjustment you make will be recorded whether or not you manually key the frame. In either case, the graph editor will solve your problem.

Open Graph Editor.
You need to select your object from the list of objects at the bottom. That puts a list of channels at the top. Select one (or more) of the channels from the upper list. The curves on the main graph correspond to these channels.
Keyframes are indicated as dots on each of the curves. Select one or more of the dots, and then change the "incoming curve" setting (bottom right, under the graph) to "linear". You'll see the curve change to a straight segment near the selected keyframe. You many need to move, or add, or delete keyframes--all of which you can do from this window.
It's really the only way to get precise control of motion.

pdp editor
11-28-2007, 05:58 PM