PDA

View Full Version : Camtasia 3 for free from techsmith



Wolvy_UK
11-24-2007, 03:08 AM
I did' nt see this posted here, and it' s such a useful tool I did' nt want anyone to miss out on it. People are always looking for screen capture software to make vids on here and I don' t know how long the offer will last.

It' s Camtasia version 3.1 and it says it' s not for Vista, but most people have XP anyway. You just download a trial version and then fill in a form at the techsmith site to get your serial number, then you will have a full version of 3.

Here' s a post from 3D Buzz with the links.

http://www.3dbuzz.com/vbforum/showthread.php?t=159809

DiedonD
11-24-2007, 05:30 AM
Gee thanks alot mate. I may just sometimes use Camtasia. I think theyre doing this cause there is something like this already free in one of those free legit sites. The same that gives away Blender, virtualdub and the like.

Wolvy_UK
11-24-2007, 05:54 AM
No problem, hope you find it useful.

I tried a free tool called camstudio a while back, and though it did the job, Camtasia has a lot more features. And it is free as well now too (For now at least).

They are offering this because version 5 of Camtasia is out, and they are hoping lots of people will upgrade from 3 to that.

Now, if anyone on here has a problem, they can just record it and we can all see :)

Ztreem
11-24-2007, 06:38 AM
Thanks for the link, Very useful.

StereoMike
11-24-2007, 06:41 AM
Thanks a lot, already dl'ed and installed it :)

mike

ColinCohen
11-24-2007, 09:04 AM
Thank you.

WilliamVaughan
11-24-2007, 09:48 AM
Awesome! Cant wait to see what everyone does with it!

Wolvy_UK
11-24-2007, 10:58 AM
Someone on the 3D Buzz forums posted that they had Vista on a laptop and it worked, so if you have vista, try it and see.

Proton, your vids are always great quality and small file sizes, so could you post some of the settings you use, like fps, resolution etc. please?

I did a quick video test of something I made in Zbrush, and it was only 2 minutes long, 700x something and it had bad pixelation. This was a quicktime file and it was 17mb, which is big for 2 mins of bad quality video.

zapper1998
11-24-2007, 11:01 AM
thanks you very muchy

LW_Will
11-25-2007, 01:47 PM
;-)

tnx

JamesCurtis
11-25-2007, 08:30 PM
Yeah thanks! Should prove very useful. Glad to see this free version!! Techsmith codec also works well saving out anims in LW!! Nice!!!

WilliamVaughan
11-25-2007, 08:46 PM
Here are the setting I use....they seem to work well:

Audio: IMA 4:1, Mono, 22 kHz
Sorenson video 3

my new videos are 800x600 and I think it's worth the extra file size. Everything is much easier to read and follow. Here is one to check out:

Introduction to Compositing inside of LightWave (20 minutes of instruction)
Click Here to view (ftp://ftp.newtek.com/multimedia/movies/w3dw/Comp.mov)

Lito
11-25-2007, 10:16 PM
I just downloaded it to play around and it seems to be working fine in Vista 64 in case anyone wanted to know :).

Wolvy_UK
11-25-2007, 11:07 PM
Thanks Proton for the settings. I actually analysed your video to find out the settings with the free Super video converter, and I' ve been playing with settings in Camtasia before I saw your post.

I know what I did wrong last time, which was I did' nt change the compression to something good. It just said "video" I think.

Anyway, after some tests I' m happy with my outputs now, and I like h264 compression, 800x600, and 8fps ( I can' t see much difference between 15 fps.). I got a 4 minute video down to 14mb in mov, which is smaller than the first 2 minute test I did and great quality too, so I' m happy I' ve got a good pipeline in place now to make videos when I need to.

By the way, great to see you making videos again. They always have tips I would ever have thought of.

Bitboy
11-25-2007, 11:21 PM
Thanks for the info. CS downloaded and registered! :)

Wordware
11-26-2007, 07:41 AM
Camtasia is a great tool, thanks for the info!!

Wordware Publishing, Inc. has a companion book for Camtasia 3 called Camtasia Studio 3: The Definitive Guide, ISBN #1-59822-000-4. We are running a Holiday special right now where any book purchased from our site gets a 50% discount and free freight (free freight is continental U.S. only). That means you can get this book for $19.98. Be sure to check it out at www.wordware.com. To get the discount, just enter the following coupon code when you order.

HOLIDAY2007

We also have titles for Camtasia Studio 4 and an upcoming release for Camtasia Studio 5. If you take advantage of the free version from TechSmith, be sure to get the book we have on 3 and check out our LightWave v9 library.

Happy Holidays!!!!!

Wordware

Medi8or
12-09-2007, 05:18 PM
I just downloaded it to play around and it seems to be working fine in Vista 64 in case anyone wanted to know :).
It seems to record fine, but Camtasia Studio doesn't work, so you're stuck with the proprietary file format.. :(

Medi8or
12-09-2007, 05:35 PM
Hah! Ignore previous message. :)

In Recorder Options, change "File Options" from CAMREC to AVI.

jnddepew
12-15-2007, 10:04 AM
awsome! thanks for finding this for us!

jnddepew
12-15-2007, 10:27 AM
erg is there any way to make it record in a lower resolution without lowering the resolution of your computer?

geothefaust
12-21-2008, 02:48 PM
Looks like I should have taken advantage of this before, I never got the registration code when techsmith was offering this. They are no longer offering this deal, unfortunately.

That said, does anyone know of any other program that you can use for free to do some screen capturing with?

Stunt Pixels
12-21-2008, 03:22 PM
That said, does anyone know of any other program that you can use for free to do some screen capturing with?

If you're on windows, windows media encoder (http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windowsmedia/howto/articles/screencap.aspx) does a decent job.

Matt
12-21-2008, 03:40 PM
This does a decent job, and can record in game too!

http://www.zdsoft.com/

geothefaust
12-21-2008, 03:41 PM
Awesome! Thanks you guys. I'll try them both out. :)

dballesg
12-21-2008, 04:41 PM
Hi,

This one is free, look on the page for the 2.5 version and be sure to read the posts about Vista, I think someone posted didn't worked on Vista 64.

http://camstudio.org/

David

geothefaust
12-21-2008, 10:56 PM
Cool, thanks David!