PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave Rollback... Help?!



souldjah
11-21-2007, 11:37 PM
Wussup all,
I'm in a bind and need help. I am using lightwave 9.3 here at my home, but at my school, they are using lightwave 9.0! I am trying to find a way to rollback my lightwave version to 9.0 or save my files in 9.0 version... please help!!! Thanx in advance...

Sensei
11-21-2007, 11:41 PM
Better do reverse.. LW v9.0 was crappy release because of serious problem with hub, which must be switched off to work normally..

souldjah
11-22-2007, 12:16 AM
...? what are you trying to tell me here...? That turning off my hub will fix my problem??

Sensei
11-22-2007, 12:25 AM
I am saying - upgrade school LW to v9.3, instead of downgrading your home to LW v9.0..

archijam
11-22-2007, 12:33 AM
Sensei that does not really help in all cases.. (plugins for 1)

I have the same problem here. How can I open a 9.3 scene in 9.0? It's a simple question. If it's not possible, then that is a useful answer (and should be added to the documentation).

j.

Sensei
11-22-2007, 12:39 AM
I am usually opening scene in text editor and manually changing version at the first line or so..

souldjah
11-22-2007, 12:58 AM
how??? how do you do this... it's exactly what I need to do...

colkai
11-22-2007, 02:11 AM
The text file for the scene reads:
LWSC
4

..If it's a LW9.3 file, but
LWSC
3

For Lw9 / LW8.5

So basically, you should be able to jsut change the 4 to a 3 and off you go. Caveat to that is, there may be plugin lines that throw up errors, but overall, should be fine.

archijam
11-22-2007, 02:36 AM
Cheers. :)

j.

BeeVee
11-22-2007, 02:39 AM
You can also export a scene in the LightWave 6 format - the scene format didn't change for 7 or 8...

B

souldjah
12-10-2007, 07:15 PM
I changed my Scene file from 4 to 3.0, and 3.5, however there is a confliction with my IK. I have an animation with bones, but when I load the 9.3 into 9.0 after the scene file change, the objects such as feet, and root, don't match up to the previous paths I had for my objects... It seems as though the IK was turned off for it, yet the bones it works... Im so frustrated... HELP?!?!