PDA

View Full Version : «Create» panel

Siegfried999
11-18-2007, 03:14 PM
Hi!:)

I've installed the Lightwave 9 demo version and I've a problem. I want to create a simple box but I don't find the primitive objects.

Where is the «Create» panel? I've just the Items, Modify, Setup, Utilities, Render, View and Modeler tools in the viewport.

I know my question is very basic and I'm not a beginner in 3d (I'm a Softimage XSI user) but I search everywhere and I find nothing.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Roly
11-18-2007, 03:35 PM
In Lightwave you're going to find two applications: Modeler and Layout.
By your description of the problem you're in Layout and need to go to
Modeler for your; well, modeling needs. Layout would be for animation,
camera settings, render, etc.

Siegfried999
11-18-2007, 03:59 PM
How to go «Modeler»?

I see «Modeler F12» in the top right and I click F12 and nothing happen.
I'm already in Modeler mode?

I posted a picture.

RedBull
11-18-2007, 04:03 PM
Maybe you have a HUB problem, although it looks like F12 should load Modeler..
Modeler is a separate.exe file, so you can load it separately.

In the directory you will have Modeler.exe and Layout.exe, or in the shortcuts, you will have a Modeler and Layout, load Modeler to do modeling.

Siegfried999
11-18-2007, 04:41 PM
Thanks Redbull! I loaded Modeler.exe and everything is Ok! :thumbsup:

Now I can create a simple box (is it very useful for modelisation :D )

Thanks again for your help guys!

cresshead
11-18-2007, 05:56 PM
a quick video on basics of lightwave
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b9vWgCdgkyU

BeeVee
11-19-2007, 02:35 AM
And now you will be able to use F12 to load one or the other if they aren't loaded, and to switch between apps if they are both loaded. Hub just needs to be told where each app is before it can switch between them.

B

jaf
11-19-2007, 04:13 PM
Another possibility is your firewall may be blocking Hub transfers.

spec24
11-20-2007, 10:47 AM