PDA

View Full Version : Points to Nulls?



DaveLEWIS
11-16-2007, 11:39 AM
Hi,

Does anyone know how to convert points in Modeler into Nulls in Layout please?

I know that there is another thread about this, but doesn't really explain how to do this.

DaveLEWIS
__________

iconoclasty
11-16-2007, 11:41 AM
If there is only one point per layer you can select "replace with null" in layout. Or are you doing something more complicated than that?

DaveLEWIS
11-16-2007, 12:00 PM
Hi iconoclasty,

Thank you, but yes I want to have nulls placed at the knuckles of a character's hand all in one layer.

DaveLEWIS

Cageman
11-16-2007, 12:09 PM
I have a tool called Points2Scene (a Modeler L-script) which saves out selected points to a scenefile as either nulls, objects or lights. Is your character animated by any chance? Because if it is, Points2Scene will not do the trick for you. If you are on LW9.x there are some other tools that lets you constrain any type of object to a point on another object and will follow that point even when animated.

DaveLEWIS
11-16-2007, 12:13 PM
Hi Cageman,

Thank you, may work as I only need the points initially as a reference to place the parent for three finger bones in Layout.

DaveLEWIS

Cageman
11-16-2007, 12:19 PM
Ok... I really hope Anthony Ramirez doesn't mind I post it here to help a fellow LW-user. :)

I've successfully used it with both LW9.x and LW8.x.. I had it crash Modeler (LW9.3) once I think, so if it crash on you, give it a second try. :)

DaveLEWIS
11-16-2007, 12:25 PM
Hi Cageman,

Hey, I just downloaded it after reading your post and it worked fine in 9.3 on a test object which was just a box. I shall try it next on a hand and see if I can use this in my work flow:)

Thankyou for pointing me in the rite direction. I have spent most of the afternoon search for something like this.

DaveLewis

DaveLEWIS
11-16-2007, 12:32 PM
Any idea if there is a way to numerically to move the tip of a bone to the position of a Null without breaking the chain of bones?

Cageman
11-16-2007, 12:33 PM
Hey Dave... there are other ways to achive similar things without any 3rd party plugins. You can apply SoftFX (dynamics) to your object, set all operators to None and hit Calculate (just set your timeline to a couple of frames). When finished scanning, you go into EditFX (select the SoftFX dynamics) and click on EditTool. Now, select a point on your mesh and click on the Commands dropdown menu (in the EditFX tab) and select Makepath. This will create a null that has the motionpath of the point. Really handy at times...

Cageman
11-16-2007, 12:37 PM
Any idea if there is a way to numerically to move the tip of a bone to the position of a Null without breaking the chain of bones?

Yeap... You should use something called Tip Move. I use LW9.3 Studio Production Style menuconfig. With that config, under SetupTab, you should find Tip Move tool.

Or, much simplier, select the bone and hit Ctrl+T... :)

EDIT: When you have positioned your tip as you want it, simply hit Ctrl+T again to deactivate the tool.

EDIT2: *doh* just realized that that wasn't what you were asking. :) numericly... I have no clue actually... :/

DaveLEWIS
11-16-2007, 01:05 PM
Hi Cageman,

Nice FX Tip, thank you.

Yes, I use tip move and the SP Style config (Yummy) , sorry:P

Would be nice to do it numericaly, but you have been a great help, thank you again.

DaveLEWIS