PDA

View Full Version : For Sale:Video Toaster NT

RetroDistortion
07-03-2003, 12:51 AM
Hello,
I have a Video Toaster NT that I'm looking to sell. I bought it thinking that it was a complete turnkey system but I was wrong. After spending $3,000 for the board, I found that I had to spend three times that amount to get it running. I'm an independent filmmaker and I don't have that kind of money so I think I need to find a system I can afford. I'm willing to let the VTNT go, make me an offer.

Rick

SBowie
07-03-2003, 04:25 AM
Just as a thought, you should be aware that you don't need to spend anything like 3X the cost of the Toaster just to get a functional system. Though you can pump as much money as you like into ANY system, drives and cpu's these days are fast enough that you should be able to kit out a nicely functional little system for MUCH less than that.

At the bottom of the entry level range, you should be able to kit out a decent completely functional single P4 system with several hours of EIDE storage, dual monitors AND the upgrade to VT[3] for around US$2500 (since you already own the VTNT). Even this level of VT system will seriously outperform anything else in the price class.

RetroDistortion
07-03-2003, 07:51 AM
Steve,
Thanks for your reply but I'm going to be honest here and tell you that I bought the VTNT for $3,000, then I had a computer built for $2,000 and this should've gotten me started but I couldn't get it to work. then I found that the motherboard doesn't support a modem so I can't download or update anything. On top of that, I was informed that I'll still need a SCSSI card and at least 2 hours worth of storage that will cost about $3,000 more. If you tack on an upgrade to a VT3, that's another $600. I'm getting ready to begin shooting on a new movie and I can't afford to drop any more into the system.