PDA

View Full Version : OT: Musicians - MIDI Keyboard Recommendations?

Matt
11-05-2007, 12:53 PM
Guys

Need some help here!

I bought an Edirol PCR-M30 MIDI keyboard controller a while back (probably JUST outside of warranty now). I've not exactly used it much, but one of the keys is losing its velocity sensitivity, this is a common problem with this model I'm NOW finding out from various new reviews I've read.

Rather then bother getting it repaired I'm looking to buy a better one. Just needs to be a MIDI controller, no sounds are needed.

Can any musicians out there recommend something that will last and looks half decent?

:)

Any help will be greatly appreciated as I'm not really up on what brands are supposed to be good.

Cheers
Matt

art
11-05-2007, 02:02 PM
I bought my EMU Xboard 49 a year ago and I am happy with it.

http://www.emu.com/products/product.asp?category=532&subcategory=533&product=13558

I am not a professional musician but after reading many reviews of many midi controllers I came to a conclusion that it would give me good quality for the price. I paid under $200 for it at the time.

P.S. This particular controller comes in 3 different sizes: 25, 49 and 61 keys

P.P.S: I had a chance to have a look at m-audio keyboard at a local store but in my opinion xboard feels a little better.

Verlon
11-05-2007, 02:46 PM
Only thing I can say is that if you ever spend time playing real piano, weighted keys make the transition smoother.

Spent a bunch of time on a little cheap midid keyboard attached to a nice midi bank, and discovered it was not exactly the same skill set as weighted keys.

If you DON'T care about that, you might just look for something like a cheap casio keyboard (with velocity sensitive keys). You can probably find those for <$100 and then just use it as a MIDI controller.

GregMalick
11-05-2007, 02:55 PM
I have both M-Audio & Novation controllers. No problems after years of use.