PDA

View Full Version : LW low in Job Stats

riki
07-02-2003, 12:17 AM
Not sure if anyone else checked this out, or how accurately it reflects the job market, but Lightwave seems to rate very low in this survey.

http://www.3drender.com/jobs/jobcount.htm

Just to compare other figures if you look at the CG Talk homepage http://www.cgtalk.com/ in the '3D Application Specific Forums' section, the LW forum totally blitzes the others. Currently '67376' Posts in the LW forum copared to '37620' in the Maya forum.

MMmm now I need to string together a theory to determine what all this means :) We have a strong community but not much grunt in the job sector??? Or maya users are so busy with work they haven't got time for idle chatter :)

Howzat
07-02-2003, 12:50 AM
I'm no expert, but there are a lot of other boards out there that Maya and Max user's post to, you can't really go off the popularity of lightwave on CG talk alone I don't think...

sailor
07-02-2003, 01:13 AM
well i dunno what u are comparing actually....the number of LW related posts on CGtalk with the 3d job offers survey on 3d Render ? i suppose that it is pretty clear there is no relation at all between those (because LW seems to be number 1 choice for a lot of hobbysts) ...here in Paris the LW job offers are very limited...around me only some freelancers doin all round 3d stuff uses LW and among them some are Mac users ...i point the fact some are Mac users because as far as i have seen NO ONE uses Macs in the video game studios nor movies/tv Studios (i'm talkin Paris/France) :)...only some printing/advertising and occasional multimedia agencies seems to use it and a Maya used to be far too expensive for they needs/clients (now maybe things have changed)...and actually only once i've been able to use LW in a large production pipeline (movie production)....the rest of the time=Maya (95 percent of the guys coming from cinema schools in France learn here on Maya)