PDA

View Full Version : Luminous Poly Panels for..................



zapper1998
11-01-2007, 03:58 PM
Luminous Poly Panels for lighting in Radiosity Problem.

It's Not Working.......................

I have an object, single sided polys..

It is surrounded buy Luminous polys, and the norms are facing the same
direction as the object, and have 1000% for Lum..

And the luminous polys are in there own layer.

I thought when you render with radiosity you can use the luminous polys as
a source for the rays ??

It's Not Working.......................??????

Am I missing Something....?????

LW 9.3 /Build 1269/ 32bit

zapper1998
11-01-2007, 04:13 PM
Also In Render Globals, Global Illum tab, when I "check" the "Use Ambient",
it does exactly the opposite, it does not Use Ambient..????

JeffrySG
11-01-2007, 04:17 PM
You're not using 'backdrop only' radiosity are you? can you post your render global settings for us to see?

zapper1998
11-01-2007, 04:40 PM
I forgot to mention:

Here's the pinchy, although the Polys are invisible to the camera,
I cannot find a way to make them invisble to reflective surfaces.
THUS, because the Object, I can always see a reflection of the lumious white.
This obviously is not very realistic.

I am using Monte Carlo

Should I be using Back Drop

JeffrySG
11-01-2007, 04:45 PM
No, don't use Backdrop as I don't think it will work with the lumigons. That's why I asked about it... I'm sure someone else will have a suggestion for you, though.

zapper1998
11-01-2007, 05:14 PM
here are screen shots

voriax
11-01-2007, 05:16 PM
Lumi polys will only work with radiosity when they're set to be seen in raytracing .. you can switch them to unseen by camera, but not unseen by rays.
If it's still not working, try remaking your scene without playing with any raytracing settings, then switch them off one by one to see whats doing it.

voriax
11-01-2007, 05:18 PM
You have your radiosity set to backdrop only, according to those images.

zapper1998
11-01-2007, 05:20 PM
will try that thanks

zapper1998
11-01-2007, 05:50 PM
ok new scene

loaded the object

turned light off

Have the Lum polys set to 1000000%

and unseen by camera

and they are real close to object

enabled radiosity: Monte Carlo

Default settings

nothing....hmmmmm.....

jameswillmott
11-01-2007, 06:09 PM
Can you post your scene/objects?

From the look of your screenshot it seems as though the luminous polys are outside the object. Are they meant to shine through transparency? Are you using interpolated MonteCarlo and have Directional Rays turned off?