PDA

View Full Version : Rounding a simple shape

starbase1
10-27-2007, 03:54 AM
I have a simple shape and I want to round off the edges.
Rounder gives technobabble errors and threatens to shut down modeler entirely...

Anyone got any ideas? I think its the bit on the inside of the step it doesn't like.

Nick

starbase1
10-27-2007, 07:13 AM
Argh! Now this one is doing it too...
What does it take to smooth off edges?!?!

Sekhar
10-27-2007, 09:07 AM
Usually, doing a merge points shuts the thing up for me.

markschum
10-27-2007, 10:08 AM
I found that using rounder but with only one or two polys selected works best for me . There is then some patching to be done . Or try edge bevel.

for that shape I would have made the end poly of the step, used fillet plugin to round the edges, then extruded it , then maybe used rounder or bevel to round the sides .

I am a relative beginner though , so if theres a hard way , thats what I probably do :)

starbase1
10-27-2007, 10:35 AM
Usually, doing a merge points shuts the thing up for me.

Thanks, that did not help in these cases... I can see how it might help though...
Nick

starbase1
10-27-2007, 10:37 AM
I found that using rounder but with only one or two polys selected works best for me . There is then some patching to be done . Or try edge bevel.

for that shape I would have made the end poly of the step, used fillet plugin to round the edges, then extruded it , then maybe used rounder or bevel to round the sides .

I am a relative beginner though , so if theres a hard way , thats what I probably do :)

I gave edge bevel a go, but that made a bigger mess than rounder!

hrgiger
10-27-2007, 01:15 PM