PDA

View Full Version : Modeling or texturing parts made of perforated metal

infilta
10-26-2007, 10:01 PM
Hi, I am new at the forum and pretty new to LW as well.
I am modeling an appliance that's similar to a hair dryer. My problem is modeling/texturing perforated metal parts.

The surface must look like this, kinda:

http://infilta.com/design/3_outside.jpg
http://infilta.com/design/4_inside.jpg

And the overall shape is similar to this:
http://www.budget-beauty.com/wp-content/hairdryer.jpg

I was trying to use perforated metal maps for color/bump/transparency in sphere but here's what I get:
http://infilta.com/design/sphereZ.jpg
http://infilta.com/design/sphereY.jpg
http://infilta.com/design/sphereX.jpg

Where all holes are distorted.

What can I do? Please help.

Hopper
10-26-2007, 10:29 PM
My first though would be to use Point Clone Plus with some cylinders in another layer and Boolean them to put the holes in the geometry, but then again I'm a noob so I guess it's like the blind leading the blind (just tryin to help).

But more importantly, will you be adding the idiot stickers to your new appliance? Like "Do not use in while sleeping" or "Do not use in the bathtub" and "WARNING: HOT - Do not place in mouth"?

:hey:

-Hopper

hrgiger
10-27-2007, 08:17 AM
Well, if you want to do a detailed model that won't break up under a close render, you may want to model the meshing. What you can do is build it flat and then use one of the modify tools with falloff to bend it into the curved shape of the end of the dryer.
It's easiest to start with one hole (use a circle of as few points as possible because it will generate a lot of geometry) and then extend out the geometry around it and connect them together. Then clone it outwards until you have a mesh large enough to work with.