PDA

View Full Version : How did the Pros become Professionals???

Algae998
10-26-2007, 06:23 AM
Hello one and all,

I have a few questions for the professionals of the 3d world, or those enroute to making a living in this field.

Currently I am in my second year, first semester of getting my associates degree at a local community college here in NY, and I couldnt be more frustrated. I want to get a bachelors degree in animation, visual effects or anything along those lines. When I look at other colleges they all seem to be "film and animation" but with a strong emphasis on film, such as scripting, set building and casting...not interested.

My question for the pros, or those who are on their way to becoming pros, is; how did you get to where you are now? Did you go to specific film/animation schools, generalized colleges, or did you teach yourself and work your way into the industry? What are some of the problems or things you experienced while working towards it?
I realize this is a competitive career field, but does anyone have any suggestions? Ive talked with a number of my college's advisers and they dont know squat haha.:grumpy:

All I know is that my free time volunteeringly consists of researching various programs/methods or modeling, animation and 3d tracking, which is what I love doing and all I want to do. The part thats frustrated me is that as my two years are coming to a close, all that Ive learned is through my own research and not from school.

Thanks in advance!

Captain Obvious
10-26-2007, 07:18 AM
It's all about skills, really: Artistic skills, technical skills and people skills. I learned all of that on my own, and as have many of my colleagues.

archijam
10-26-2007, 08:10 AM
There is of course no one answer, tho you will hear alot "get a job - learn in the industry..."