PDA

View Full Version : moiré pattern



Spicule
10-25-2007, 12:28 AM
My client provided a model with lots of thin parallel lines, but demands I get rid of the resulting moiré pattern. I tried setting AA pretty high (16AA with AS.03 & .15 OS) but that just gave me a really smooth looking moiré. Attached is an example (not the 16AA version). Are there any camera/rendering settings to help this (or any help at all)? Thanks!

Also, I'm sure this gets asked a lot, but can you recommend a good online renderfarm? Double thanks :)

jameswillmott
10-25-2007, 12:36 AM
Try using some oversampling, about 0.1-0.3, and the BlueNoise pattern

jin choung
10-25-2007, 12:51 AM
if that moire is coming from polys, you're screwed.

if that pattern is coming from a texture MIP MAPPING... multi image pyramid... look into it.

works like a charm in quake....

jin

10-25-2007, 07:18 AM
When its parallel edges in the model, oversampling is probably the best bet.
Remember you can do limited region renders to test your settings. you might get best fast results br rendering double size images with much lower AA but high oversampling, and then re-sizing!

Spicule
10-25-2007, 02:06 PM
Thanks a bunch! I will give those suggestions a try
Brian

Spicule
10-25-2007, 02:33 PM
When the geometry's fine
On my boards made of pine
That's a moire
When the lines seem to spin
On my roof made of tin
That's a moire