PDA

View Full Version : Motion Curve offset

RAZ
07-01-2003, 04:14 AM
I'm pretty new to dealing with motion curves etc in Layout so need some help here...

I've created a long motion path for an object and would like to clone the object 100's of times.

I'd then like to randomly offset the clones on that motion path so they appear to be following each other down a road. How would I best go about this considering that the clones maybe running into the thousands? Obviously some sort of quick or automatic approach to offsetting each clone would be best.... using a plug-in maybe?

Any tips with the graph editor or plug-ins would be very helpful indeed.

Many thanks

Razz

Lightwolf
07-01-2003, 04:35 AM
Hi RAZ,
Howzabout using particles?
Create an emitter.
Create a Wind object that follows your path.
Set the Wind Mode to Path.

You can then use the PFX Linker to creat random clones of your object that get linked to the particles...

Cheers,
Mike

RAZ
07-01-2003, 06:08 AM
As I said I'm pretty new to Layout's fancier functions but that sounds like a very elegant solution. If the particles do indeed conform to a motion path and there is some control over their distance from each other then you may be onto a winner. I'm assuming also that the motion can be saved for network rendering etc. I'll have a tinker and let you know....thanks.

Lightwolf
07-01-2003, 06:14 AM
Hi Raz,
I did something similar a couple of weeks ago, I wanted a couple of package boxes to fly from a building to a logo (don't ask...). I used the particles to do that.

Make sure you calculate the particles ("Start" in the PFX controller), and that you save the emitter motion.

Also, the size of the emitter pretty much influences the spread of the particles around the path, so i you want them all to be at the same height, create a very thin emitter with a tiny Y size.