PDA

View Full Version : Changing surface colors during animation

Igeeky1
10-18-2007, 08:15 AM
Hello,

I'm a newbie and thus probably have a newbie question here.

I have an object with surfaces defined. As the animation goes I want the surface color (image map whatever) to change. So I set my color in surface editor and create a keyframe at 0. Move to 30 change and create keyframe.

Well obviously this ain't the way it is to be done. :D The object at frame 0 also takes on the new color from 30.

So...how am I to accomplish this? There has got to be an easier way than importing new objects for each color .... yes?

BeeVee
10-18-2007, 08:31 AM
Envelopes are what you need to look at in the Surface Editor. The buttons marked E (and to remove one you don't want, hold down the shift key and click it again).

B

Igeeky1
10-18-2007, 03:48 PM
Thanks Ben !

<scurry> off to look up how to use envelopes</scurry>

Igeeky1
10-22-2007, 07:41 AM
OK, so I use the E to create keys with new colors, adjust curve types etc to get what I want. do a sample rendering looks good.

Save scene.

Open today and ....

All gone. The Envelope changes do not save as part of a scene? Is there something additional I needed to do?

BeeVee
10-22-2007, 07:58 AM
Nope the envelopes you were changing were object surface properties and thus needed to be saved with the object, sorry about that.

B

Igeeky1
10-23-2007, 09:26 AM
No problem Ben, I needed the practice redoing anyways, helps put stuff in my head better. I guess saving time related data with an object seemed odd to me I guess.

So...changing the color with the envelope worked great, do you use it if you wish to change the texture image over time as well?

Andyjaggy
10-23-2007, 10:39 AM
Yes LW is different then most apps. Objects and Scenes are two completely different things.

Surrealist.
10-23-2007, 01:01 PM
It is a good idea to save all objects and the scene before you quit so you never have to worry about losing anything.

Andyjaggy