PDA

View Full Version : VT4 DV Deck Recognition



Ron Kirby
10-16-2007, 02:50 PM
How do you get VT4 to recognize that you have a DV deck attatched to a firewire port. I run reconfig. and it does not recognize that indeed a deck is attached.
Ron

ScorpioProd
10-16-2007, 03:34 PM
I'm not sure what "reconfigure" you're talking about, but you would simply use the "add a new deck" button on the deck control panel.

Ron Kirby
10-16-2007, 04:55 PM
Thank Eugene, I finally got to "add a new deck" and got it to control the deck.
However I'm having another issue. I put a clip of video on the timeline of VT4...start my deck recoding...but see and record nothing but a blue screen. I can see the the clip playing on the studio monitor, but nothing on the record deck (JVC DV3000). I'm clueless as always.
Ron

SBowie
10-16-2007, 05:06 PM
Ron, in Prefs you set the DV port to either In or Out as required.

Ron Kirby
10-17-2007, 12:53 PM
Thanks Steve, that helped. I thought I had solved my issue with the deck, however VT4 still does no recognize it. On the source preset I believe I need the the "Microsoft camera and deck" driver and it is not there.

The deck works perfectly with WinDV as I transfer in.

What am I missing and where does it need to goe?

Ron

SBowie
10-17-2007, 02:00 PM
Maybe try powering up the Camera before starting VT .. this can be a little flaky.

Ron Kirby
10-17-2007, 08:11 PM
Thanks Steve, tired all sorts of combinations and as many things as I could think of. Called Tech Supports, they said reinstall VT4. Did that this afternoon...same problem. VT4 will not recognize the deck!

At this point I'm open to try just about anything with a remote possibility of working.

Ron

SBowie
10-17-2007, 08:17 PM
Hmmm . Well, another thing - make sure your DirectX installation is up to date

Ron Kirby
10-18-2007, 08:06 AM
I assume so, how would I know?
Ron

SBowie
10-18-2007, 08:43 AM
type "dxdiag" into the Windows Run command, hit enter ... twiddle your thumbs a bit ...

Ron Kirby
10-18-2007, 09:33 AM
DirectX 9.0c...no problems found!
Ron

SBowie
10-18-2007, 09:53 AM
OK, I'm fresh out - sorry. Maybe talk to Tech Support.

Ron Kirby
10-18-2007, 10:25 AM
Thanks Steve. I'll give tech support another try and report back if any conclusions are reached.
Ron

creach
10-29-2007, 01:55 PM
Did we find a solution to this problem? I'm having the same trials today.

Dan

Ron Kirby
10-30-2007, 09:00 AM
Sorry Dan, no solution found here! Very, very agrivating!
Ron

m.d.
10-30-2007, 11:10 AM
I ran into this alot...
windows would recognize a deck but toaster wouldn't.

usually i have to go to deck control, and add a new deck....almost every time....then it would usually work

toaster always output's the firewire signal(for me at least) even with no deck detected....
but if your recording capturing from dv...try making sure windows recognizes the deck first....then go through add new deck

creach
10-30-2007, 03:18 PM
Gotcha. That's maddening.

We're having problems with a JVC SR-DVM70US, which is a MiniDV/Harddrive/DVD Recorder with iLink and RS-232. The iLink only seems to work *very* infrequently with the JVC box, but worked flawlessly when we checked the Firewire port/cable with a Panasonic camcorder. We were having such problems we thought the 1394 stuff needed to be re-installed, but, back to the drawing board.

RS-232? Don't even ask.

I have contacted JVC techsup and they'll get back to us in a week or so.

Good luck with yer problem.
Dan