PDA

View Full Version : export/save lw9 scene as a lw8 scene?



cresshead
10-14-2007, 09:44 AM
export/save lw9 scene as a lw8 scene?

i can save as a 5.6 scene but where's the save as lw8 compatable scene?

cresshead
10-14-2007, 09:49 AM
not under export and no under save as...so where did newtek hide it?

cresshead
10-14-2007, 09:58 AM
tried the saearch of te forum all i came up with was hand editing the scene file...i'm sure there's a way...i remember someone writng about it...
gee why not put the feature in save as or export?

Exception
10-14-2007, 10:26 AM
There's no such thing as a lw 8 scene file.
It's either lw 5.x+ or 6.x+ or 9.2+. There was no format change in those times.
So, a 9.0 scene should load fine in 8.x, a 9.2 scene should be saved as a 6.0 scene to load in anything prior to 9.2.

cresshead
10-14-2007, 10:28 AM
how do you save as a 6.0 scene?

cresshead
10-14-2007, 10:46 AM
to clarify
i have one seat of lightwave 9.3
i have 1 seat of lightwave 8.5

how the ''bleep'' do i export a 9.3 scene to work in 8.5?....ie lightwave 6.0 scene format?

i trying to get stuff done this weekend and lightwave's all over the shop messy workflow's are starting to wind me up!

...yet again....help!

cresshead
10-14-2007, 10:51 AM
found it....additional plugins 'scene reverter'....
geez what pain...hey why not put EVERYTHING in additonals....i mean the whole program!...at least we know where it might be!...
and give everything non descript names just to make it more ''fun''!

9.4....can we have scene reverter in SAVE as or export by default PLEASE!

IMI
10-14-2007, 10:57 AM
Yeah, save as 6.0.
As Exception said, there was no change in the .lws format since 6.0, prior to 9.2.
Just close Layout and in the Save and Exit Options panel which pops up, there's a dropdown menu labeled "Scene File Version". The choices in that box are 5.6, 6.0 and 9.2.

There's probably a way to set that up permanently, but i don't know. In any event, it'd be bad to lose the option and have it set permanently on 6.0.

You won't get that option in the normal Save Scene as... dialog - you have to force it to pop up by trying to exit... I think. Might be another way though.

cresshead
10-14-2007, 11:06 AM
save and EXIT...what dumb place to put it......save reverter [additional plugins also seems to work...don't know what scene type it's based from thoght...maybe 6.0 or 5.6]

fancy putting that on the exit to the program?....what idiot thoght that was a good place?

i've posted a 'request' over you know where to ''get with it'' and start to be logical for a change!

IMI
10-14-2007, 11:10 AM
You're welcome. ;)

Yeah, I agree. I just happened to remember that from allt he times I've seen it. The first time, i thought the same thing you just wrote.
I looked for it in the Configure Menus panel, searched for "save" and "save and exit", thinking maybe it just wasn't assigned, but wasn't able to find anything.
There really ought to be a Save and Exit in the File menu.

cresshead
10-14-2007, 11:23 AM
ohh yeah ...err...thanks!:bowdown: :D :thumbsup:

Exception
10-14-2007, 11:44 PM
It's under the normal file menu for me...
perhaps resetting your menus?

Surrealist.
10-14-2007, 11:59 PM
Same here. It's in File/Save/Scene and then it lists them. I am using the Studio Production preset.

cresshead
10-15-2007, 11:20 AM
well it's not like that in the default install of 9.3..maybe it should be! as i've JUST installed 9.3 yesterday is i thought 9.2 may have been corrupted/lost.

these little niggly things that make no sense and have no base in logic DO drive people round the twist!...it=f it's in the production u.i. layout then can't newtek MAKE that the default u.i?

gee so many stupid things in stupid places...the mind boggles on what they were eating when they put them in this dumb/hidden places...se my post about hypervoxel presets too while your at it...almost make ya yearn for 7.5 where everything was simple to find....most of the time!

save as 6.0 when you select to EXIT the program...////...:bangwall:

Ztreem
10-15-2007, 11:43 AM
Works fine here, LW 9.3 installed as usual nothing else, default UI and all.

cresshead
10-15-2007, 12:08 PM
my clean new install of 9.3 came in with 8.5 edit for windows/u.i...GREAT!!
that's why the 'features' were hidden...wonderful!

having found that out if i change it to 'defualt or production' the export to 6.0
though i can't get the 'save on exit' to pop up now...

Hmmm....'fun'.

cresshead
10-15-2007, 12:11 PM
9.2 whe in production settings gives ''save on exit'' but 9.3 doesn't...