PDA

View Full Version : Single channel expression for wave made from many objects?

Archigram
10-06-2007, 09:03 AM
I am an artist LW user and not very savvy about all the powerful programming tools built into this amazing program. I would be grateful for suggestions on how to make a fairly simple wave motion out of a long row of (let's say) rectangles that elongate and shrink in turn as the "wave" passes through like a digital oscilloscope with bar graphs. The animating channel (in this case it will be a multi-target morph channel) will be, as I understand waves, the same (sine?) curve in each succeeding bar but out of phase--starting on a later frame.

I'm pretty sure there are ways of setting up expressions or sliders to help me automate the process of adjusting the speed, amplitude, wavelength (etc?)across all my bars without having to reprogram each one individually. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Many thanks.

vfxwizard
10-06-2007, 02:34 PM
Try applying the Oscillate modifier to the morph envelope. There is minimal math involved, just apply it, set max frames, and to offset the phase enter in the phase field of each object:

(360/TOTAL)*CURRENT

Replace TOTAL with the number of objects you have, and CURRENT with the one you are editing, starting at zero. IE for 7 objects, 360/7=51.43, phase for first object 0, second 51.43, third 51.43*2 etc...

However you mention controls, sliders and a "long" row. Oscillate can't be controlled without changing the values by hand and phase has to be set up for each object, thus it's only practical for a small number of items.

I'm not even sure I understood correctly the effect you'r looking for, so I have attached an example scene, using oscillator and endomorphs (but MTSE will work the same you'll have to scale the values to the max morph which will be over 100%).